PR 14 - Diving Grand Prix 2013: China leads, Ukraine shines in Madrid


Lausanne (SUI), February 17, 2013 – China’s rising talents took seven wins out of the eight at stake in Madrid (ESP), the first meet of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2013 held from February 15-17. Ukraine’s Iulia Prokopchuk broke up China’s hold on the gold by winning the women’s 10m platform. 

In the men’s 3m springboard, Chao He (CHN) shared the podium with compatriot Shixin Li (second) and Oleksandr Gorshkovozov (UKR, third). In the platform competition, the battle for the gold played out between Siyi Xie and Jian Yang (CHN) with Xie reaching the highest podium. The bronze went to Jesper Tolvers from Sweden.
In the synchronised events, China also prevailed, with He / Li finishing first on the springboard. Gorshkovozov paired with Oleg Kolodiy to pick up silver while Jonathan Ruvalcaba / Carlos Moreno (MEX) completed the podium. On the platform, the Chinese Siyi Xie / Jian Yang were untouchable, easily beating Jose Guerra / Jeinkler Aguirre (CUB, second) and Jahir Ocampo / Diego Balleza Isaias (MEX, third).

In the women's 3m springboard, 2012 winner in the event Han Wang (CHN) bested Dolores Hernandez (MEX, second) and scooping the bronze was another young Chinese diving prospect, Jiao Liu. Liu, pairing with Quilin Zheng, also won the 3m synchro event. Viktoriya Kesar / Anna Pysmenska (UKR) were second and Ekaterina Ukolova / Elena Chernykh (RUS), third.
In the 10m platform, Iulia Prokopchuk (UKR) stole the gold from Yajie Si (CHN) while Ekaterina Petukhova (RUS) secured the minor medal. In the synchro same event, Shegping Wu / Jie Lian finished on top, beating Australian pair Emily Boyd / Lara Tarvit (second) and the Mexicans Karla Rivas / Monica Marquez (third).



3m springboard: 1. Chao He (CHN) 501.60; 2. Shixin Li (CHN) 435.60; 3. Oleksandr Gorshkovozov (UKR) 406.05
10m platform: 1. Siyi Xie (CHN) 518.75; 2. Jian Yang (CHN) 514.10; 3. Jesper Tolvers (SWE) 358.75
3m springboard synchro: 1. Chao He/Shixin Li (CHN) 419.79; 2. Oleksandr Gorshkovozov/Oleg Kolodiy (UKR) 372.33; 3. Jonathan Ruvalcaba/Carlos Moreno (MEX) 371.01
10m platform synchro: 1. Siyi Xie/Jian Yang (CHN) 458.64; 2. Jose Guerra/Jeinkler Aguirre (CUB) 388.80; 3. Jahir Ocampo/Diego Balleza Isaias (MEX) 350.91


3m springboard: 1. Han Wang (CHN) 345.55; 2. Dolores Hernandez (MEX) 329.10; 3. Jiao Liu (CHN) 311.05
10m platform: 1. Iulia Prokopchuk (UKR) 321.70; 2. Yajie Si (CHN) 339.70; 3. Ekaterina Petukhova (RUS) 300.65
3m springboard synchro: 1. Jiao Liu/Qulin Zheng (CHN) 297.90; 2. Viktoriya Kesar/Anna Pysmenska (UKR) 275.40; 3. Elena Chernykh/Ekaterina Ukolova (RUS) 274.11
10m platform synchro: 1. Shegping Wu/Jie Lian (CHN) 301.62; 2. Emily Boyd/Lara Tarvit (AUS) 296.52; 3. Karla Rivas/Monica Marquez (MEX) 293.97


February 15-17:  Madrid (ESP)
February 22-24: Rostock (GER)
May 2-5: Gatineau (CAN)
May 9-12: Fort-Lauderdale (USA)
May 16-19: San Juan (PUR)
May 29-31: Kazan (RUS)
June 28-30: Bolzano (ITA)

> more info