PR40 - Teams for the Super Finals are now selected


After the conclusion of the Asia/Oceania preliminary round of both the 2009 FINA Men’s and Women’s World League, the list of the teams participating in the Super Final of the tournaments is now complete.

In the men’s competition, the nations qualified for the Super Final (in Podgorica, MNE, from June 16-21, 2009) are Australia, Croatia, Italy, Japan, Montenegro, Serbia, South Africa and USA, while among women, Australia, Canada, China, Greece, Italy, Russia, Spain and USA are also selected for the Super Final (to be held in Kirishi, RUS, from June 9-14, 2009).

In the second round of the Asia/Oceania group, organised in Auckland (NZL) from May 29-31, 2009, Australia dominated the men’s competition by winning its three games (after also triumphing in all the three matches of the first round in Adelaide, AUS, on May 22-24), while Japan confirmed the second place of the group (and the qualification for the Super Final) by finishing the two rounds with a total of four victories and two losses. Iran was third (two wins and four defeats), while New Zealand lost all its six matches.

Among women, things were more balanced between the two qualifiers for the Super Final, Australia and China. In fact, both teams finished the two rounds with a total of five wins and one loss (the advantage going to Australia by the goal-difference), confirming the tradition of the Australians in women’s water polo and the evolution of the Asian team during the latest years. New Zealand concluded the two rounds with two victories and four losses, while Japan was defeated in all the six matches it contested.

Meanwhile, the only two teams from Americas (therefore qualified for the women’s Super Final), played two preparatory games also this weekend. In the first match, Canada beat USA by 9-5, while the second encounter saw the Americans stronger, defeating their Canadian neighbours by 10-5.

FINA Newsletter