PR68 - Lurz’s winning streak continues in Copenhagen, Okimoto golden among women


Thomas Lurz (GER) continued his winning streak over the weekend by taking gold in the sixth leg of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2009, which was held in Copenhagen (DEN) on Saturday, August 29. The winner in the women’s field was Poliana Okimoto (BRA). Swimmers had to complete five laps of a very unique 2km course requiring them to circle the Christiansborg (home to the Danish Parliamentary buildings) in the centre of the city.

This World Cup victory is Lurz’s third-in-a-row (after respective wins in Varna and Annecy on August 8 and 12) and his fourth victory in the series this year (he won on June 27 in Setubal, POR). Considering he was crowned World Champion in the 5km and 10km in late-July, Lurz is having another fantastic year. The men’s silver medallist was Petar Stoychev (BUL), better known for dominating the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2009 series, in which he won the last three legs and five stops overall. Taking bronze was up-and-comer Sergay Bolshakov (RUS), who also took silver in Annecy earlier this month.

The Brazilian delegation took the spotlight among women, as the closest challenger to the gold medallist Okimoto was her compatriot Ana Marcela Cunha, who touched home about 12 seconds behind for the silver. Meanwhile, the 25km World Champion from Rome 2009 – Angela Maurer (GER) – settled for bronze. Having won two silvers and three gold medals so far, Okimoto is having a great 2009 World Cup season, not to mention the 5km bronze she picked up in Rome at the recent World Championships. Cunha’s silver puts her 2009 World Cup medal tally at four (2 silvers, 1 bronze and I gold), and Maurer now has three overall (1 silver, 2 bronze)

Medallists – MEN
1. Thomas Lurz (GER) 1:57.40
2. Petar Stoychev (BUL) 1:57.43
3. Sergay Bolshakov (RUS) 1:57.44

Medallists - WOMEN
1. Poliana Okimoto (BRA) 2:05.17
2. Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA) 2:05.29
3. Angela Maurer (GER) 2:05.30

The next races of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2009 series are as follows: September 6, 2009 – Manhattan, NYC (USA), September 20, 2009 – Chun An (CHN), September 26, 2009 – Shantou (CHN), and October 4, 2009 in Hong Kong (HKG).

FINA Newsletter