PR73 - Lurz and Okimoto continue relentless domination as series moves to UAE


As the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2009 moves on to the United Arab Emirates for the final legs, Thomas Lurz (GER) and Poliana Okimoto (BRA) continue to dominate their respective men’s and women’s fields. Both swimmers swept the three Asian legs, held in Chun An (CHN) on September 20, Shantou (CHN) on September 26, and Hong Kong (HKG) on October 4, 2009.

With these wins, Lurz has won a total of eight gold medals on the 2009 World Cup circuit, while Okimoto has a total of seven gold medals and two silver medals. Both are well on their way to clinching the 2009 World Cup titles.

No others have approached the tallies of Lurz and Okimoto, but several have often found themselves in the top-3. Allan do Carmo (BRA) has four medals (three bronze and one silver) so far, while Vladimir Dyatchin (RUS) has gained three medals (two silver and a bronze), and Christian Reichert (GER) has collected two silvers. Among women, Angela Maurer (GER) has six medals (five bronze and one silver), Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA) has four (with one gold, two silver and one bronze), Nadine Reichert (GER) has two silvers and one bronze, and Larisa Ilchenko (RUS) has one gold and one silver.

Hong Kong Highlights: The event included 44 swimmers (26 men and 18 women) from 15 nations. In both fields the race was fairly close, but Lurz cruised to victory with a two-second margin, while Okimoto put a five-second gap between herself and second-place. The struggle among men was for the minor medals, as C. Reichert, Dyatchin and Fran Crippen (USA) respectively (the top 2-4 finishers), touched home within a split-second of each another. Meanwhile, a battle for the women’s bronze unfolded between Swann Oberson (SUI) and Maurer, with Oberson prevailing by a nail. This podium finish for Oberson is a nice boost for her. She has been present on the international open water scene for several years, generating good results, but generally out of medal range. She placed well in Beijing for example, finishing sixth in the 10km.

Medallists from Hong Kong (HKG), October 4, 2009:

1. Thomas Lurz (GER) 1h58m22s
2. Christian Reichert (GER) 1h58m24s3
3. Vladimir Dyatchin (RUS) 1h58m24s4

1. Poliana Okimoto (BRA) 2h07m18s
2. Larisa Ilchenko (RUS) 2h07m23s
3. Swann Oberson (SUI) 2h07m25s4

The remaining races of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2009: October 17, 2009 in Dubai (UAE) and October 21, 2009 in Sharjah (UAE).

FINA Newsletter