PR76 - Lurz and Okimoto confirm their overall title after success in UAE


Thomas Lurz (GER) and Poliana Okimoto (BRA) confirmed their overall victory in the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2009 after the two last races of the series, held in Dubai (October 17) and in Sharjah (October 21), both in the United Arab Emirates.

In the latest of these races, Lurz was silver medallist – behind Australia’s Trent Grimsey - , while Okimoto was the fastest among women, defeating Russia’s Larissa Ilchenko. On October 17, the Brazilian star had finished also first in Dubai (this time in front of Germany’s Angela Maurer), and Lurz had conquered the gold as well.

In the 12 races of the 2009 circuit, both Lurz and Okimoto accumulated nine victories each, with the German swimmer getting one additional silver medal and the Brazilian finishing second on two occasions. Okimoto finished the 2009 10km World Cup with a total of 216 points, while Lurz accumulated 198 points.

In the men’s ranking, Allan do Carmo (BRA) finished second with 132 points, followed by Russia’s Vladimir Dyatchin with 108. Among women, Angela Maurer was second with 168 points, while another Brazilian – Ana Marcela Cunha – was third with 136.

Medallists in Dubai (UAE)

1. Thomas Lurz (GER) 1h44m53s
2. Vladimir Dyatchin (RUS) 1h44m54s
3. Thomas Allen (GBR) 1h44m58s
1. Poliana Okimoto (BRA) 1h52m32s
2. Angela Maurer (GER) 1h52m34s
3. Larissa Ilchenko (RUS) 1h52m40s

Medallists in Sharjah (UAE)

1. Trent Grimsey (AUS) 1h48m17s
2. Thomas Lurz (GER) 1h49m15s
3. Evgeny Drattsev (RUS) 1h49m17s
1. Poliana Okimoto (BRA) 1h58m17s
2. Larissa Ilchenko (RUS) 1h58m28s
3. Angela Maurer (GER) 1h58m30s
FINA Newsletter