PR83 - Action in the men’s tournament starts on November 17 in Europe


25 teams in the five continents are ready for the 2010 edition of the FINA Men’s Water Polo World League. The European preliminaries start on November 17, 2009 with the first round of games for the squads of the Old Continent: Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, FYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Spain and Turkey.

The European tour will finish on April 20, 2010. From Americas, Brazil, Canada, United States and Venezuela will play two preliminary rounds on May 14-16 and May 28-30, while the African teams – Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia and South Africa –, and the Asia/Oceania squads – Australia, China, Iran, Japan and Kazakhstan - will also hold their preliminary round in May 2010

The Super Final of the competition (place to be decided) will be organised with the best eight nations of the preliminaries on July 12-18, 2010.

The women competition will comprise 17 nations – from Americas, Canada, Puerto Rico and USA will compete; from Asia/Oceania, Australia, China, Japan and Kazakhstan will be the squads in action; and from Europe/Africa, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Russia, Spain, and South Africa will be involved in the 2010 action.

The preliminaries will take place in May and June 2010 and the Super Final (place to be decided) will gather the best eight teams of the earlier rounds from June 29 to July 4, 2010.

1st round – MEN’S PRELIMINARIES in Europe

November 17, 2009:
France-Montenegro, in Bordeaux
Italy-Germany, in Sori
Russia-Greece, in Kirishi
FYR Macedonia-Croatia, in Skopje
Romania-Spain, in Oradea
Serbia-Turkey, in Nis

FINA Newsletter