PR86 - Burgh (RSA) and Hardy (USA) confirm overall victory in Singapore


Cameron van der Burgh (RSA) and Jessica Hardy (USA) were the overall winners of the 2009 FINA/ARENA Swimming World Cup, respectively in the men’s and women’s category. Burgh, already winner in 2008, collected 163 points, while Hardy finished the five-meet series with a total of 210 points. Both winners will take home a prize money of US$ 100,000. Throughout this year’s World Cup, Burgh has established two World Records and Hardy improved the global mark on four occasions.

Also receiving respectively US$ 50,000 and US$ 30,000 are the second and third classified in each category: among men, Roland Schoeman, also from South Africa, was second with 131 points, while the third position went to Peter Marshall (USA, 126). In the women’s field, Therese Alshammar (SWE) finished behind Hardy with 200 points and the third place went to Hinkelien Schreuder (NED, 84).

In Singapore, the last meet of the circuit (November 21-22), three WR were improved: Peter Marshall in the men’s 50m backstroke (22.61), Therese Alshammar in the women’s 50m butterfly (24.38) and Kathryn Meaklim (RSA) in the women’s 400m individual medley (4:22.88). Moreover, three world cup records were also set.

Overall, the 2009 FINA/ARENA Swimming World Cup was highlighted by 37 new World Records and 39 new World Cup records.

FINA/ARENA Swimming World Cup 2009:
- October 16-17 in Durban (RSA)
- November 6-7 in Moscow (RUS)
- November 10-11 in Stockholm (SWE)
- November 14-15 in Berlin (GER)
- November 21-22 in Singapore (SIN)

FINA Newsletter