PR87 - 10 world-class teams ready for the show in Montreal (CAN)


Ten of the best teams in the planet will compete from November 27-29, 2009 in the fourth edition of the FINA Synchro World Trophy, taking place in Montreal (CAN). The national federations of Brazil, Canada, China, Egypt, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Russia, Spain and United States will perform five events: “Synchro Highlight Routine”, “Thematic Duet”, “Solo”, “Thematic Team” and “Combination”.

In order to enhance the spectacular routines in synchronised swimming, the FINA Synchro World Trophy has different rules than the ones used at Olympic Games or World Championships. The main differences relate with the possibility of wearing accessories, to the judgement of the deck movements, or to the length of the programmes.

Moreover, the Canadian organisers of the competition have scheduled light and music shows between each event, and there will also be a Gala Show in the end of the three-day Trophy.

After the victory of Spain in 2008 (at home, in Madrid), the Iberians are once more the favourites to take the overall title, which is made by adding the scores of the five events. Russia, China, Japan, Canada and the USA are also strong contenders for the medals. A total of US$ 167,500 in prize money will be on offer.


November 27, 2009 – Synchro Highlight Routine & Thematic Duet

November 28, 2009 – Solo & Thematic Team

November 29, 2009 – Combination

Podium of the previous editions:

2006 (Moscow, RUS): 1. Russia, 2. Spain, 3. Japan

2007 (Rio de Janeiro, BRA): 1. Russia, 2. Spain, 3. United States

2008 (Madrid, ESP): 1. Spain, 2. China, 3. Russia

FINA Newsletter