PR19 - Who will beat China in the second leg in Veracruz (MEX)?


After a first successful leg staged in Qingdao (CHN) on March 27-28, the world’s best divers will meet again in Veracruz (MEX), where the second leg of the 4th FINA/LI-NING Diving World Series 2010 will be held on April 16-17, in the “Joaquin Capilla” diving pool at the “Leyes de Reforma” Aquatic Center of Veracruz Sport Institute. The third and last meet of the Series will take place in Sheffield (GBR) on April 23-24.

Over 50 athletes from 13 countries are to enter the two-day competition, which will display both individual and team events. The diving programme for men and women includes 3m springboard, 10m platform, 3m springboard synchro and 10m platform synchro.

Chinese divers are expected to make, once again, the show but competitors from other countries may also hope to earn a podium spot. China’s Kai Qin, Bo Qiu as well as Zi He and Ruolin Chen in the men’s and women’s fields respectively all made the podium in Qingdao and have good prospects to repeat their feat in Veracruz. Other medal favourites include Troy Dumais (USA), Patrick Hausding (GER), Sascha Klein (GER), Sharleen Stratton (AUS), Meaghan Benfeito (CAN), plus home heroes Paola Espinosa and Yahel Castillo.

At each meet, US$96,000 of prize money is reserved for the three best divers of all eight individual and synchro events. Moreover, a prize money amounting US$192,000 will reward the overall World Series winners in each diving event – totalling US$480,000.

Online video streaming of this competition will be available at

FINA Newsletter