PR15 - World’s best divers meet for first leg in Qingdao (CHN)


The world’s top-ranked divers will meet in Qingdao (CHN), where the first leg of the three-meet 4th FINA/LI-NING Diving World Series will be held on March 27-28, in the freshly-built swimming pool of the Qingdao Sports Centre.

About 50 athletes from 15 countries will compete in the first meet of the Series, which comprises eight events for both men and women: 3m springboard, 10m platform, 3m springboard synchro and 10m platform synchro.

Here is the complete 2010 World Series schedule:

March 27-28 – Qingdao (CHN)
April 16-17 – Veracruz (MEX)
April 23-24 – Sheffield (GBR)

Having established their domination in the three previous World Series editions, China’s diving stars are expected to shine once again in this first meet at home, in Qingdao. Likely to hit the podium are Kai Qin and Bo Qiu, overall winners of the 2009 World Series in the 3m springboard and the 10m platform respectively, and Olympic medallists Chong He (3m springboard) and Luxin Zhou (10m platform). In the women’s field, China’s favourites are Zi He and Li Kang, overall winners of the 2009 World Series in the 3m springboard and 10m platform respectively, and Olympic medallists Wu Minxia (3m springboard individual and synchro), Chen Ruolin and Xin Wang (10m platform individual and synchro).

The competition promises to be tight as other Olympic and World champions will attend the event: Alexandre Despatie (CAN), Matthew Mitcham (AUS) and Thomas Daley (GBR) in the men’s competition and Yulia Pakhalina (RUS), Emilie Heymans (CAN), Tania Cagnotto (ITA), Briony Cole (AUS) and Paola Espinosa (MEX) in the women’s field.

At each meet, US$96,000 of prize money is reserved for the three best divers of all eight individual and synchro events. Moreover, a prize money amounting US$192,000 will reward the overall World Series winners in each diving event – totalling US$480,000.

Online video streaming of this competition will be available at

FINA Newsletter