Women’s 4x100m free: Australia “recovers” title in a new CR

Kazan 2015 - SW

Dominators of this event in the last editions of the FINA World Championships in 2009, 2011 and 2013, the teams of United States and The Netherlands could not sustain Australia’s power in Kazan and had to content with the minor medals at stake. The Aussies did a perfect race, and conducted by Emily Seebohm, Emma McKeon, Bronte Campbell and Cate Campbell, they got the gold in a new Championships Record of 3:31.48, improving the best mark (3:31.72) set by the Dutch in Rome six years ago.

Australia had won this event twice in the history of the FINA World Championships, precisely in Montreal 2005, and at home, in Melbourne 2007, and had since then been bronze medallist in 2009, and second in Barcelona 2013. The new world champions had in Emily Seebohm (53.92), their slowest swimmer, but from the second leg on, McKeon (53.57), and especially the Campbell sisters (51.77 for Bronte and 52.22 for Cate) were decisive for the final outcome.

The winning team of Australia - Photo credit: Giorgio Scala/Deepbluemedia

The Dutch squad (silver in 3:33.67) had been the world champions in 2009 and 2011 and were also first at the 100m-mark, but the last three swimmers could not match the Australian momentum. The bronze went to the US team, the winners in 2013, but definitively not in their best shape in this first day of the Championships. Missy Franklin started things well (53.68), but her teammates were not fast enough to catch the two leaders and touched in 3:34.61. In the end, the podium in Kazan replicated the one of the last Olympic Games in London 2012. 


Emma McKeon (AUS, gold): "It's so great to be in this team with these girls. All of us did a tremendous job, we should be grateful for our heat swimmers as they put us in a great lane. Today each of us put out a great effort, it just couldn't be better than that".

World Record: Netherlands, 3:30.98 – July 24, 2014 in Glasgow (GBR)
Championships Record: Australia, 3:31.48 – August 2, 2015 in Kazan (RUS)
2005-2013 winners in this event: 2005 – Australia (3:37.32); 2007 – Australia (3:35.48); 2009 – Netherlands (3:31.72); 2011 – Netherlands (3:36.05); 2013 – United States (3:32.31)
The best in this event (1. most victories or 2. fastest time): United States (1978, 1991, 1998, 2003 & 2013)
2012 Olympic podium: 1. Australia (3:33.15), 2. Netherlands (3:33.79), 3. United States (3:34.24)