PR 58- China pockets seven gold out of eight in Madrid

Press Release

Lausanne (SUI), June 29, 2015- The fifth leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix in Madrid (ESP), which brought together 19 countries, came to an end on Sunday June 28 with China winning seven gold medals out of eight at stake. Poland, Austria, Australia, Canada, Mexico, the Netherlands, Puerto Rico and Norway were other nations on the podium at the event in the Spanish capital.

Among the men's events, Poland's Andrzej Rzeszutek topped the 3m springboard with 426,15, while Constantin Blaha (AUT) took silver in front of Wei Zhong (CHN). They respectively totalled 420,65 and 411,40 points.

Bowen Huang (CHN), Domonic Bedggood (AUS) and Zigan Huang (CHN) claimed the three first places, in this order, in the spectacular 10m platform.

In the women's competition, Chinese Xu Zhihuan claimed gold in the 3m event (327,40) while her compatriot Ji Siyu won the 10m with 372,45 points comfortably in front of her teammate Miya Suo and Canada's Celina Toth who were second and third.

The women's 3m springboard silver and bronze medals were picked up by Australia's Georgia Sheehan and Melissa Citrini-Baulieu of Canada.

All four synchro events with no exception were topped by team China, the world's dominant nation in diving.

As the curtain falls on the FINA Diving Grand Prix Madrid (ESP), the divers travel to Bolzano, Italy, to compete from July 3-5 for the sixth leg of the circuit.
3m springboard: 1. Andrzej Rzeszutek (POL) 426,15 2. Constantin Blaha (AUT) 420,65 3. Wei Zhong (CHN) 411,40
10m platform:
1. Bowen Huang (CHN) 493,90 2. Domonic Bedggood (AUS) 471,50 3. Zigan Huang (CHN) 463,25
3m synchro: 1. Wei Zhong-Zhiguang Diao (CHN) 395,49 2. Julio Rodriguez-Diego Garcia (MEX) 375,75 3. Kacper Lesiak-Andrzej Rzeszutek (POL) 365,40
10m synchro:
1. Zigan Huang-Lizhi Cao (CHN) 438,09 2. Espen Valheim-Filip Devor (NOR) 333,15 3. Kirill Sivintsev-Dimitrii Khatuntcev (RUS) 325,86

3m springboard: 1. Zhihuan Xu (CHN) 327,40 2. Georgia Sheehan (AUS) 319,30 3. Melissa Citrini-Baulieu (CAN), 312,60
10m platform:
1. Siyu Ji (CHN) 372,45 2. Miya Suo (CHN) 356,95 3. Celina Toth (CAN) 318,00
3m synchro:
1. Dongjin Jia-Zhihuan Xu (CHN) 326,10 2. Inge Jansen-Uschi Freitag (HOL) 295,20 3. Jeniffer Fernández-Luisa Maria Jiménez (PUR) 249,06
10m synchro:
1.Yaying Ding-Siyu Ji (CHN) 313,38 2. Viviana Del Angel-Azucena Salmorán (MEX) 263,46 3. Julie Synnove Thorsen-Thelma Baatz Strandberg (NOR) 235,89

February 20-22 - Rostock (GER)
April 2-5 - Leon (MEX)
April 9-12 - Gatineau (CAN)
April 16-19 - San Juan (PUR)
June 26-28 - Madrid (ESP)
July 3-5 - Bolzano (ITA)
October 16-18 - Singapore (SIN)
October 23-25 - Kuala Lumpur (MAS)
Oct 29-Nov 1 - Gold Coast (AUS)

FINA Newsletter