PR 45 – DWS 2015: China wins (almost) everything in Windsor (CAN)

Press Release

Lausanne (SUI), May 25, 2015 - The team of China displayed once more its excellence in the fifth and penultimate leg of the 2015 FINA/NVC Diving World Series, by winning nine out of the 10 gold medals at stake in Windsor (CAN) from May 22-24. The only non-Chinese victory went to Jack Laugher, from Great Britain, in the men’s 3m springboard. The final stop of the circuit will now take place in Merida (MEX), on May 29-31.

In Canada, the Chinese delegation demonstrated its supremacy in 2015, and only Chao He (silver) could not do better than an inspired Laugher in the lower board. The British won in 526.30, against He’s 521.65. In the remaining men events, the Asian squad was the strongest of the field, with Jian Yang triumphing in both the individual and synchro 10m platform. In the synchro 3m springboard, Chao He paired successfully with Chong He for the gold. Stars Rommel Pacheco (MEX), Tom Daley (GBR), Patrick Hausding (GER) and David Boudia (USA) were also in good shape in Windsor, all winning medals among men.

In the women’s field, China was even stronger, with 1-2 placings in the individual 3m springboard and 10m platform. Zi he was the diver to watch, with victories in both the individual and synchro 3m, while Qian Ren, only 14, was the winner in the higher board. Other nations to medal among women included Canada (with its inspired quartet formed by Jennifer Abel, Pamela Ware, Meaghan Benfeito and Roseline Filion), Malaysia (Pandelela Rinong), Australia (Esther Qin and Samantha Mills) and Great Britain (Tonia Couch and Sarah Barrow).

Finally, in the two mixed events, it was again China all the way, with victories in the 3m and 10m event. The remaining medals went to Canada, Great Britain and Mexico.



3m springboard: 1. Jack Laugher (GBR), 526.30; 2. Chao He (CHN), 521.65; 3. Rommel Pacheco (MEX), 498.10
10m platform: 1. Jian Yang (CHN), 567.25; 2. Yue Lin (CHN), 533.65; 3. Thomas Daley (GBR), 511.50
3m springboard synchro: 1. Chao He/Chong He (CHN), 429.87; 2. Jahir Ocampo/Rommel Pacheco (MEX), 421.92; 3. Patrick Hausding/Stephan Feck (GER), 409.83
10m platform synchro: 1. Jian Yang/Yue Lin (CHN), 433.50; 2. David Boudia/Steele Johnson (USA), 431.52; 3. Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER), 430.92

3m springboard: 1. Zi He (CHN), 378.90; 2. Han Wang (CHN), 363.60; 3. Jennifer Abel (CAN), 359.60
10m platform: 1. Qian Ren (CHN), 429.35; 2. Yajie Si (CHN), 377.90; 3. Pandelela Rinong (MAS), 371.25
3m springboard synchro: 1. Zi He/Han Wang (CHN), 316.80; 2. Esther Qin/Samantha Mills (AUS), 302.10; 3. Jennifer Abel/Pamela Ware (CAN), 288.81
10m platform synchro: 1. Yajie Si/Jie Lian (CHN), 327.90; 2. Tonia Couch/Sarah Barrow (GBR), 325.92; 3. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN), 317.28


3m springboard synchro: 1. Zi He/Yue Lin (CHN), 323.70; 2. Rommel Pacheco/Dolores Hernandez (MEX), 299.70; 3. Thomas Daley/Alicia Blagg (GBR), 296.31
10m platform synchro: 1. Jie Lian/Xiaohu Tai (CHN), 341.88; 2. Meaghan Benfeito/Vincent Riendeau (CAN), 322.98; 3. Alejandra Orozco/German Sanchez (MEX), 202.23.

FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2015 calendar:
March 13-15     Beijing (CHN)
March 19-21     Dubai (UAE)
April 24-26       Kazan (RUS)
May 1-3           London (GBR)
May 22-24       Windsor (CAN)

May 29-31       Merida (MEX)

FINA Newsletter