PR 11 - Benfeito (CAN) and Klein (GER) sweep platform events in Rostock

Press Release

Lausanne (SUI), February 22, 2015 – Canada’s Meaghan Benfeito, 2012 Olympic bronze medallist, and current 10m synchro World champion Sascha Klein of Germany took the gold in both platform events, individual and synchro, in Rostock (GER), the first meet of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2015 held from February 20-22. Belarus, China, Italy, Mexico, Russia and Ukraine were the other nations with medals in the event. 

In the men’s 3m springboard, 2013 World bronze medallist Jahir Ocampo (MEX) bested Peng Jianfeng (CHN, second) and Illya Kvasha (UKR, third). In the platform, home favourite Sascha Klein clearly dominated the field, finishing on top with 524.20 points while Tai Xiaohu (CHN) and Vadim Kaptur (BLR) took silver and bronze, respectively. Klein also won the men’s platform synchro with Patrick Hausding ahead of the Chinese and Mexican pairs.

Among women, China’s Qu Lin took out the 3m springboard, edging Italy’s Tania Cagnotto, 2013 World silver medallist, by just 0.20 points. Scooping the bronze was 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Jennifer Abel of Canada. Qu also finished first in the 3m springboard synchro, combining with Wu Chunting. In the 10m platform, the battle for the gold played out between Canada’s Meaghan Benfeito and Chinese Lin Jing with Benfeito emerging victorious by a slim margin (360.30 against 359.40). Another Chinese, Suo Miya, claimed the bronze. The Canadian took another gold with Roseline Filion in the 10m platform synchro, totalling 302.55 points.


3m springboard: 1. Jahir Ocampo (MEX) 489.80; 2. Peng Jianfeng (CHN) 482.00; 3. Illya Kvasha (UKR) 462.60
10m platform: 1. Sascha Klein (GER) 524.20; 2. Tai Xiaohu (CHN) 476.45; 3. Vadim Kaptur (BLR) 465.10
3m springboard synchro: 1. Oleksandr Gorshkovozov / Illya Kvasha (UKR) 406.11; 2. Huang Bowen / Zhong Yuming (CHN) 377.76; 3. Evgeny Novoselov / Viacheslav Novoselov (RUS) 359.40
10m platform synchro: 1. Patrick Hausding / Sascha Klein (GER) 451.26; 2. Lian Junjie / Tai Xiaohu (CHN) 427.47; 3. Diego Balleza / Jonathan Ruvalcaba (MEX) 400.35

3m springboard: 1. Qu Lin (CHN) 341.25; 2. Tania Cagnotto (ITA) 341.05; 3. Jennifer Abel (CAN) 336.30
10m platform: 1. Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) 360.30; 2. Lin Jing (CHN) 359.40; 3. Suo Miya (CHN) 337.65
3m springboard synchro: 1. Qu Lin / Wu Chunting (CHN) 305.40; 2. Tania Cagnotto / Francesca Dallape (ITA) 284.40; 3. Jennifer Abel / Pamela Ware (CAN) 284.34
10m platform synchro: 1. Meaghan Benfeito / Roseline Filion (CAN) 302.55; 2. Lin Jing / Suo Miya (CHN) 301.56; 3. Alejandra Estrella / Karla Rivas (MEX) 294.30

Full results

FINA Newsletter