PR 1 - SWC: 2015 edition includes eight meets over three clusters

Press Release

Lausanne (SUI), January 9, 2015 - FINA is pleased to announce the calendar of the FINA Swimming World Cup 2015, running from August to November, and distributing over US$ 2 million in prize money. This prestigious 25m-pool circuit will comprise eight meets distributed over three clusters.

Immediately after the conclusion of the FINA World Championships in Kazan (RUS), the best athletes of the planet will travel to Moscow, also in Russia, to compete in the initial leg of the series on August 11-12. Three days later, a new location – Chartres-Paris (FRA) – will certainly attract many stars.

The competition then proceeds to the Asian cluster with events in Hong Kong (HKG), Beijing (CHN) and Singapore (SIN). Finally, the FINA Swimming World Cup comes to an end in the third cluster, comprising stops in Tokyo (JPN), Doha (QAT) and Dubai (UAE).

The complete calendar of the FINA Swimming World Cup 2015 is as follows:

Cluster 1  
Moscow (RUS) August 11-12, 2015
Paris-Chartres (FRA) August 15-16, 2015
Cluster 2  
Hong Kong (HKG) September 25-26, 2015
Beijing (CHN)  September 29-30, 2015
Singapore (SIN)   October 3-4, 2015
Cluster 3  
Tokyo (JPN) October 28-29, 2015
Doha (QAT) November 2-3, 2015
Dubai (UAE) November 6-7, 2015

“The 2015 edition of this World Cup has definitively a very attractive calendar, and will be attended by our best swimmers. Everything will be put in place to ensure great excitement and superb performances during this circuit, which became an important reference in the international swimming calendar”
, considered the FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione.

Katinka Hosszu (HUN), among women, and Chad Le Clos (RSA) in the men’s field, were the overall winners of the 2014 edition. Some weeks after their consecration in the series, they were voted the FINA Best Swimmers of Year and were also the athletes in evidence in the 12th FINA World Swimming Championships (25m), in Doha (QAT).

FINA Newsletter