PR 66 - USA beats Australia, clinches third title in Khanty-Mansiysk (RUS)


Lausanne (SUI), August 17, 2014 – Team USA successfully defended their World Cup title, beating Australia 10-6 in a thrilling final in Khanty-Mansiysk (RUS) at the 16th edition of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup, held on August 12-17, 2014.

The U.S. squad continues to strengthen their place among the world’s best, being already Olympic and World League champion, and bringing home a third World Cup title after the ones obtained in 1979 and 2010. Runner-up Australia settled for silver for the second time and added a tenth medal to its FINA World Cup collection (three gold, three silver and four bronze). 

World and European champion Spain earned its first World Cup medal after outscoring China, 2010 World Cup bronze medallist, in a tight 7-5.

In the play-off for fifth and sixth places, Hungary edged host Russia 14-11 while South Africa and Singapore, both newcomers at World Cup level, concluded their game in 11-6.

Australia’s Rowena Webster was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament, USA’s Ashleigh Johnson was the Best Goalkeeper while the Top-scorer in Khanty-Mansiysk was Hungarian Rita Keszthelyi with 24 goals.

Qualification for Kazan 2015: Russia qualifies as the host nation of next year’s FINA World Championships. USA and Italy gained the qualification spots via the World League. Four teams qualified from the World Cup – Australia, Spain, China and Hungary (regardless of their final ranking). The remaining nine teams will qualify through the continental championships: three from Europe, two from the Americas, two from Asia and one each from Oceania and Africa.


1. United States of America
2. Australia
3. Spain

4. China
5. Hungary
6. Russia
7. South Africa
8. Singapore