PR 52 - Diving World Cup: Indomitable China triumphs at home


Lausanne (SUI), July 20, 2014 – Diving giant China sealed an impressive six days at the 19th FINA Diving World Cup held at Shanghai's Oriental Sports Centre (CHN) from July 15-20, 2014, pocketing all nine titles on offer. Finishing 1-2 in all four individual events, the local squad walked away with 13 awards. Other nations with medals included Australia (2), Canada (3), Great Britain (1), Germany (2), Malaysia (1), Mexico (1), Russia (2), Ukraine (1) and USA (1).

Among men, reigning world champion He Chong (CHN) bested team-mate Cao Yuan in the 3m springboard, amassing a total 540.35 to capture the gold. Great Britain’s Jack Laugher placed third with an overall 488.20 points. In the 10m platform final, fresh face Jian Yang (CHN) edged Chinese star Qiu Bo to finish first with 543.85. Mexico’s Ivan Garcia completed the podium, scoring 504.90.

In the men’s synchro events, solid pair Lin Yue / Cao Yuan scooped the two golds at stake. On the lower board, German duo Patrick Hausding / Stefan Feck scored 431.40 points for silver, finishing six-hundredths of a point ahead of 2012 Olympic silver medallists Evgenii Kuznetsov / Ilia Zakharov of Russia. In the platform, current world champions Patrick Hausding / Sascha Klein picked up silver while Americans David Boudia / Steele Johnson claimed third spot.

In the women’s field, host China retained the gold thanks to young prospects Shi Tingmao in the 3m springboard (383.40 points) and Huang Xiaohui in the 10m platform (373.60 points). 2013 world champion He Zi took second in the 3m while Canada’s Jennifer Abel earned the bronze. Liu Huixia took second in the 10m; the bronze that day was reserved for Australia’s Melissa Wu.

In synchro action, Shi paired with Shanghai-native and veteran Wu Minxia, extending China’s golden standard with a clean win in the 3m. They won the event totalling 340.50 points, 22 points more than Canadians Jennifer Abel / Pamela Ware, second. The bronze medal went to Maddison Keeney / Anabelle Smith from Australia (310.14 points). World champions Chen Ruolin / Liu Huixia captured the gold with 357.66 points. Malaysia achieved their best result at the World Cup, earning silver thanks to Mun Yee Leong / Jun Hoong Cheong (336.66 points) while Canada claimed their third medal in Shanghai with long-time pair Roseline Filion / Meaghan Benfeito, 2013 world silver medallists, placing third (335.25 points).

3m springboard: 1. He Chong (CHN) 540.35; 2. Cao Yuan (CHN) 526.70; 3. Jack Laugher (GBR) 488.20
10m platform: 1. Jian Yang (CHN) 543.85; 2. Qiu Bo (CHN) 528.50; 3. Ivan Garcia (MEX) 504.90  
3m springboard synchro: 1. Lin Yue/Cao Yuan (CHN) 461.31; 2. Stephan Feck/Patrick Hausding (GER) 431.40; 3. Evgenii Kuznetsov/Ilia Zakharov (RUS) 431.34
10m platform synchro: 1. Cao Yuan/Lin Yue (CHN) 494.46; 2. Sascha Klein/Patrick Hausding (GER) 444.78; 3. David Boudia/Steele Johnson (USA) 414.12

3m springboard: 1. Shi Tingmao (CHN) 383.40; 2. He Zi (CHN) 369.65 3. Jennifer Abel (CAN) 364.05
10m platform: 1. Huang Xiaohui (CHN) 373.60; 2. Liu Huixia (CHN) 354.35; 3. Melissa Wu (AUS) 349.50
3m springboard synchro: 1. Shi Tingmao/Wu Minxia (CHN) 340.50; 2. Jennifer Abel/Pamela Ware (CAN) 318.33; 3. Maddison Keeney/Anabelle Smith (AUS) 310.14
10m platform synchro: 1. Chen Ruolin/Liu Huixia (CHN) 357.66; 2. Mun Yee Leong/Jun Hoong Cheong (MAS) 336.66; 3. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) 335.25

Team event (mixed): 1. Huang Xiaohui/Chen Aisen (CHN) 408.60; 2. Oleksandr Bondar/Yulia Prokopchuk (UKR) 390.55; 3. Nadezdha Bazhina/Victor Minibaev (RUS) 381.30