PR 32 - Diving World Series 2014: Kuznetsov (RUS) stuns favourite in Moscow


Lausanne (SUI), May 5, 2014 – The local delegation delivered powerful performances in Moscow during the fourth stop of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series on May 2-4 with at its helm 2013 World silver medallist Evgeny Kuznetsov taking the gold in the men’s 3m springboard with a final score of 542.30, ahead of Ukraine’s Illya Kvasha (second) and British Jack Laugher (third).

Kuznetsov also took out the men’s 3m synchro with team-mate and 2012 Olympic champion in the event Illya Zakharov. The Russians bested He Chong / Qin Kai (CHN, second) and Jack Laugher / Christopher Mears (GBR, third).
In the men’s 10m platform, Chen Aisen (CHN) finished first with 563.30 points, ahead of compatriot Yang Jian (second) and local Victor Minibaev (third). In the synchro same event, Olympic silver medallists Ivan Garcia / German Sanchez (MEX) edged out China’s Yang Jian / Chen Aisen by a slim margin (446.76 to 444.66). Russian duo Victor Minibaev / Roman Izmaylov settled for the bronze with 434.10 points.

Reigning World champion He Zi remained unchallenged in the women’s 3m springboard, besting team-mate Wang Han (second) and Italy’s Tania Cagnotto (third). Liu Huixia (CHN) took home her third gold in the women’s 10m platform in this year’s Series, beating Olympic champion Chen Ruolin for a total 411.40 points. Ukraine’s Yulia Prokopchuk completed the podium in the event.

China extended its unbeaten streak in the women’s synchro events. Divers from Russia, Malaysia and D.P.R. Korea also medalled in the synchro events.



3m springboard: 1. Evgeny Kuznetsov (RUS) 542.30; 2. Illya Kvasha (UKR) 530.35; 3. Jack Laugher (GBR) 512.45
10m platform: 1. Chen Aisen (CHN) 563.30; 2. Yang Jian (CHN) 557.80; 3. Victor Minibaev (RUS) 530.80
3m synchro: 1. Evgeny Kuznetsov / Illya Zakharov (RUS) 463.86; 2. He Chong / Qin Kai (CHN) 459.45; 3. Jack Laugher / Christopher Mears (GBR) 421.71
10m synchro: 1. Ivan Garcia / German Sanchez (MEX) 446.76; 2. Yang Jian / Chen Aisen (CHN) 444.66; 3. Victor Minibaev / Roman Izmaylov (RUS) 434.10


3m springboard: 1. He Zi (CHN) 377.40; 2. Wang Han (CHN) 362.40 3. Tania Cagnotto (ITA) 353.00
10m platform: 1. Liu Huixia (CHN) 411.40; 2. Chen Ruolin (CHN) 397.45; 3. Yulia Prokopchuk (UKR) 380.10
3m synchro: 1. Shi Tingmao / Wu Minxia (CHN) 330.90; 2. Maria Polyakova / Kristina Ilinykh (RUS) 311.10; 3. Jun Hoong Cheong / Yan Yee Ng (MAS) 305.40
10m synchro: 1. Chen Ruolin / Liu Huixia (CHN) 332.28; 2. Kyong Un Choe / Nam Hyang Song (PRK) 314.82; 3. Pandelela Rinong Pamg / Mun Yee Leong (MAS) 310.26

The FINA/NVC Diving World Series continues in Windsor (CAN) on May 30-June 1, 2014.