PR 16 - Diving Grand Prix 2014: China completes sweep, locals bag 4 medals in Rostock (GER)


Lausanne (SUI), February 24, 2014 – China completed a sweep, pocketing the eight gold medals on offer at the second meet of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2014, taking place in Rostock (GER) from February 21-23. Other nations climbing the podium in Rostock were Germany, France, Australia, Ukraine, Mexico and the Netherlands.

In the men’s competition, China’s Shixin Li won again the 3m springboard while Matthieu Rosset from France took the silver, a nice surprise given his previous classifications at world level. Local favourite and multi-World medallist Sascha Klein claimed the bronze. In the 10m platform, Jian Yang (CHN) shared the podium with teammate Liang Huo (second) and Ukrainian Oleksandr Bondar (third). In the synchro events, the Chinese pairs of Zhiyi Sun/Shixin Li (3m springboard) and Aisen Chen/Jian Yang (platform) dominated the operations. On the lower board, silver went to local heroes Stephan Feck/Patrick Hausding while the bronze that day was reserved for Ukraine’s Ilya Kvasha/Oleksandr Gorshkovozov. In the platform, Patrick Hausding picked up silver again (pairing with Sascha Klein) while the Mexican pair of Diego Balleza/Jonathan Ruvalcaba completed the podium.

Among women, China had strong assets with Lin Qu taking out the 3m springboard, individual and synchro (with Qulin Zheng). Dutch Uschi Freitag secured the bronze behind Qu and teammate Chunting Wu, before improving to a silver-medal finish in the synchro event (with Inge Jansen). In the platform, Jian Yang (CHN) was untouchable, besting teammate Jie Lian (second) and Yulia Prokopchuk from Ukraine (third). In the synchro same event, China’s pair Qian Ren/Siyu Ji easily won the event, ahead of Australians Rachel Bugg/Melissa Wu (second) and locals Kieu Duong/ Kristin Syrbe (third).


3m springboard: 1. Shixin Li (CHN) 518.65; 2. Matthieu Rosset (FRA) 479.50; 3. Sascha Klein (GER) 478.25
10m platform: 1. Jian Yang (CHN) 586.05; 2. Liang Huo (CHN) 529.70; 3. Oleksandr Bondar (UKR) 486.50
3m springboard synchro: 1. Zhiyi Sun/Shixin Li (CHN) 441.39; 2. Stephan Feck/Patrick Hausding (GER) 419.40; 3. Olexandr Gorshkovozov/Ilya Kvasha (UKR) 391.41
10m platform synchro: 1. Aisen Chen/Jian Yang (CHN) 470.79; 2. Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER) 442.74; 3. Diego Balleza/Jonathan Ruvalcaba (MEX) 402.03

3m springboard: 1. Lin Qu (CHN) 345.75; 2. Chunting Wu (CHN) 332.45; 3. Uschi Freitag (NED) 303.60
10m platform: 1. Qian Ren (CHN) 353.40; 2. Jie Lian (CHN) 344.25; 3. Yulia Prokopchuk (UKR) 325.55
3m springboard synchro: 1. Lin Qu/Qulin Zheng (CHN) 309.60; 2. Uschi Freitag/Inge Jansen (NED) 280.80; 3. Victoriya Kesar/Anastasiya Nedobiga (UKR) 278.31
10m platform synchro: 1. Qian Ren/Siyu Ji (CHN) 340.86; 2. Melissa Wu/Rachel Bugg (AUS) 297.84; 3. Kieu Duong/Kristin Syrbe (GER) 287.85

Full FINA Diving Grand Prix 2014 calendar:

No1 in Madrid (ESP) from February 14-16
No2 in Rostock (GER) from February 21-23
No3 in Gatineau (CAN) from May 1-4
No4 in San Juan (PUR) from May 8-11
No5 in Guanajuato (MEX) from May 16-18
No6 in Bolzano (ITA) from August 1-3
No7 in Singapore (SIN) from October 17-19
No8 in Kuala Lumpur (MAS) from October 24-26