PR 12 - Diving Grand Prix 2014: World-class divers to make a splash in Madrid (ESP)


Lausanne (SUI), February 13, 2014 – A total 76 divers from 15 countries will gather for the inaugural leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2014, organised in Madrid (ESP) from February 14-16.

There are eight events on the competition programme: 3m springboard, 10m platform, 3m springboard synchro and 10m platform synchro for men and women. Last year, China blitzed to win all eight titles at stake. 

The three-day event will feature internationally-recognised divers, including 2008 Olympic champion in the men’s platform Matthew Mitcham (AUS), 2008 Olympic silver-medallist in the women’s 10m platform synchro Melissa Wu (AUS), 2008 Olympic champion and three-time World champion in the men’s 10m platform synchro Liang Huo (CHN), two-time World champion in the men’s 1m springboard Shixin Li (CHN), Ukraine’s Oleksandr Gorshkovozov and local hopeful Javier Illana.

Full FINA Diving Grand Prix 2014 calendar:

No1 in Madrid (ESP) from February 14-16
No2 in Rostock (GER) from February 21-23
No3 in Gatineau (CAN) from May 1-4
No4 in San Juan (PUR) from May 8-11
No5 in Guanajuato (MEX) from May 16-18
No6 in Bolzano (ITA) from August 1-3
No7 in Singapore (SIN) from October 17-19
No8 in Kuala Lumpur (MAS) from October 24-26