PR 95 - Diving World Series: 2014 competition programme announced


Lausanne (SUI), December 3, 2013 – The 2014 edition of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series will have a record six meets, held in five different regions: Asia, the Middle East, Europe, North and Central America. London (GBR), Windsor (CAN) and Monterrey (MEX) make their entry as host city and will each organise a leg of the Series.

The complete 2014 World Series calendar is as follows:

Beijing (CHN): 14-16 March, 2014
Dubai (UAE): 20-22 March, 2014
London (GBR): 25-27 April, 2014
Moscow (RUS): 2-4 May, 2014
Windsor (CAN): 30 May - 1 June, 2014
Monterrey (MEX): 6-8 June, 2014

Launched in 2007, the FINA/NVC Diving World Series is a high-profile competition which offers an annual meeting opportunity for the world’s brightest diving stars. Each year, the best-ranked divers from previous Olympic Games, World Championships and World Cups are invited to take part in three-day meets.

The diving programme includes eight events for both men and women: 3m springboard and 10m platform, both individual and synchro. The competition for individual events is organised as a tournament in each event with two semi-finals of four or five divers each and a final with the three best-ranked divers from each semi-final. The synchro events are held as direct finals.

At each meet, US$96,000 of prize money is reserved for the three best divers of all eight individual and synchro events. Moreover, an overall prize money amounting US$87,000 will be divided between the top-six divers in each event – totalling US$696,000.

Chinese lighting manufacturer NVC is named as the title sponsor of the FINA Diving World Series from 2014-2017.

FINA Newsletter