PR 44 - Diving Grand Prix 2013: Olympic champion Zakharov takes the spotlight in Kazan


Lausanne (SUI), May 31, 2013 – The sixth stop of the 18th FINA Diving Grand Prix, organised in Kazan (RUS) from May 29-31, was largely a Chinese-Russian affair, with the two diving powerhouses occupying the majority of podiums. The host federation claimed three titles while China’s fresh faces did not disappoint, sweeping half of the titles at stake. A nice surprise was the win of Jin Ok Kim and Un Gyong Choe from DPR Korea in the women’s 10m platform synchro. Other nations to climb the podium in Kazan were Great Britain and Belarus.

In the men’s competition, 2012 Olympic champion Ilya Zakharov triumphed in the 3m springboard, individual and synchro (with Evgeny Kuznetsov). China’s Jun Wu shared the 10m platform podium with Sergey Nazin (RUS, second) and compatriot Luxin Zhou (third) before repeating as winner in the synchro same event with Zhou.  

Among women, local hope Nadezhda Bazhina was the best in the 3m springboard, beating Chinese Ying Zhang and Hao Wang for second and third, respectively. Taking gold in the platform event was another young Chinese prospect, Nanju Zhang.

The next and last leg of the Grand Prix will take place in Bolzano (ITA) from June 28-30.

3m springboard: 1. Ilya Zakharov (RUS) 536.75; 2. Xin Zhou (CHN) 487.00; 3. Jack Laugher (GBR) 484.20
10m platform: 1. Jun Wu (CHN) 536.65; 2. Sergey Nazin (RUS) 503.40; 3. Luxin Zhou (CHN) 502.35
3m springboard synchro: 1. Ilya Zakharov/Evgeny Kuznetsov (RUS) 450.81; 2. Siyi Xie/Rongquan Chen (CHN) 431.40; 3. Yauheni Karaliou/Andrei Pavluk (BLR) 386.04
10m platform synchro: 1. Jun Wu/Luxin Zhou (CHN) 466.59; 2. Roman Izmaylov/Sergey Nazin (RUS) 450.45; 3. Vadim Kaptur/Yauheni Karaliou (BLR) 356.55

3m springboard: 1. Nadezhda Bazhina (RUS) 339.60; 2. Ying Zhang (CHN) 332.15; 3. Hao Wang (CHN) 321.75
10m platform: 1. Nanju Zhang (CHN) 373.90; 2. Jingjing Jiao (CHN) 370.60; 3. Daria Govor (RUS) 293.50
3m springboard synchro: 1. Hao Wang/Xin Wang (CHN) 313.50; 2. Olga Kulemina/Elena Chernykh (RUS) 291.87; 3. Jin Ok Kim/Un Gyong Choe (PRK) 257.70
10m platform synchro: 1. Jin Ok Kim/Un Gyong Choe (PRK) 315.30; 2. Elina Ridel/Olga Vintonyak (RUS) 286.14; 3. Daria Govor/Maria Poluyanova (RUS) 246.00

FINA Newsletter