PR 40 - Diving World Series 2013: Mexico finishes circuit with 2 titles in Guadalajara; China gets six gold


Lausanne (SUI), May 27, 2013 – The Chinese divers dominated the sixth and last meet of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2013, organised in the Mexican city of Guadalajara, from May 24-26. The representatives from the Asian powerhouse in this discipline got the gold in all individual events and also the titles in the women’s synchro finals. Mexico got the remaining two victories, in the men’s 3m and 10m synchro.

Precisely among men, Chao He (CHN) triumphed in the 3m springboard, but the third place of Mexico’s Yahel Castillo allowed him to be the overall winner of the Series in this event. In the 10m platform, Bo Qiu (CHN) was the best, but despite the fifth place in Guadalajara, Victor Minibaev (RUS) was the most regular throughout this year’s circuit and confirmed the overall lead in this event. Russia was also the 2013 winner in the men’s 10m synchro (in Mexico, local heroes German Sanchez/Ivan Garcia got the gold), while China got its only overall title in the men’s field in the 3m synchro (an event were Castillo and Daniel Islas shone at home).

In the women’s field, China was more regular, getting the overall title in all four events. In the 3m, Zi He confirmed in Mexico her 2013 supremacy, while Yajie Si was the best in the 10m platform (in Guadalajara, but also overall). In the synchro events, China completely dominated the operations, with a complete set of victories in all six legs, both in the 3m springboard and 10m platform. In Mexico, the winners were Zi He/Han Wang for the lower board and Yajie Si/Huixia Liu for the platform.

The FINA/Midea Diving World Series comprised six meets in three continents: in Asia, Beijing (CHN) and Dubai (UAE) hosted the first and second leg respectively; in Europe, the third and fourth stop was in Edinburgh (GBR) and Moscow (RUS); in Americas, Guadalajara (MEX) proudly organised the fifth and sixth meet of the Series.


Men’s 3m springboard: 1. Chao He (CHN) 531.55; 2. Yahel Castillo (MEX) 495.90; 3. Oleg Kolodiy (UKR) 484.65
Men’s 10m platform: 1. Bo Qiu (CHN) 572.20; 2. German Sanchez (MEX) 492.00; 3. Ivan Garcia (MEX) 472.95
Men’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Yahel Castillo/Daniel Islas (MEX) 455.31; 2. Shixin Li/Chao He (CHN) 444.09; 3. Nicholas Robinson-Baker/Christopher Mears (GBR) 422.94
Men’s 10m platform synchro: 1. German Sanchez/Ivan Garcia (MEX) 457.59; 2. Victor Minibaev/Artem Chesakov (RUS) 434.43; 3. Jose Antonio Guerra/Jeinkler Aguirre (CUB) 416.58

Women’s 3m springboard: 1. Zi He (CHN) 370.05; 2. Han Wang (CHN) 354.75; 3. Tania Cagnotto (ITA) 335.90
Women’s 10m platform: 1. Yajie Si (CHN) 400.75; 2. Alejandra Orozco (MEX) 384.65; 3. Tonia Couch (GBR) 336.20
Women’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Zi He/Han Wang (CHN) 327.00; 2. Paola Espinosa/Dolores Hernandez (MEX) 313.20; 3. Yan Yee Ng/Jun Hoong Cheong (MAS) 305.70
Women’s 10m platform synchro: 1. Yajie Si/Huixia Liu (CHN) 335.16; 2. Tonia Couch/Sarah Barrow (GBR) 317.10: 3. Pandelela Rinong Pamg/Mun Yee Leong (MAS) 311.46

FINA Newsletter