PR 38 - Diving World Series 2013: Mexicans withstand Chinese dominance and pocket 3 titles at home


Lausanne (SUI), May 20, 2013 – The host delegation exhibited their prowess in the penultimate stage of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2013 held in Guadalajara (MEX) from May 17-19, snatching a historic three titles in the men’s 3m springboard individual and synchro, and men’s 10m platform synchro (picking up also two silver and two bronze medals).

Diving powerhouse China claimed the remaining five titles at stake, walking away with a total tally of 9 medals (five gold, three silver and one bronze). Other countries to climb the podium in Guadalajara were Canada, Cuba, Great Britain, Malaysia and Russia.

In the men’s competition, it was a hard-fought Chinese-Mexican affair. Home favourite Yahel Castillo took out the men’s 3m springboard and the 3m synchro event with teammate Daniel Islas, beating China’s Shixin Li (second) and Chao He (third), who combined together in the synchro event, settling for silver. In the 10m platform, 2012 Olympic silver medallist Qiu Bo from China won comfortably, besting locals Ivan Garcia (second) and German Sanchez (third). Garcia and Sanchez, 2012 Olympic silver medallists, triumphed in the 10m synchro event, outscoring the Russian and Cuban pairs.   

In the women’s field, China remained unchallenged. 2012 Olympic silver medallist Zi He (CHN) emerged victorious in the 3m springboard and repeated her winning performance with teammate Han Wang in the 3m synchro event. Mexico’s Laura Sanchez, 2012 Olympic bronze medallist, took second in the 3m springboard while 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Jennifer Abel from Canada placed third. In the 10m platform, Chinese Huixia Liu clinched her first Diving World Series crown, finishing ahead of teammate Yajie Si (second) and 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Roseline Filion from Canada (third). The two Chinese paired to win the 10m synchro event, leaving silver for the Malaysians and bronze for the British. 

All results

FINA Newsletter