PR 36 - Diving Grand Prix 2013: China bags eight gold medals on offer in Fort Lauderdale (USA)


Lausanne (SUI), May 13, 2013 – Chinese divers blitzed to win 11 medals, including the eight gold on offer, at the fourth meet of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2013, organised in Fort Lauderdale (USA), from May 9-12. Other nations to climb the podium in Florida were Colombia, Germany, Great Britain, Malaysia, Mexico, Ukraine and the United States.

In the men’s field, China’s rising talent Chao He took out the 3m springboard, besting 2012 Olympic bronze medallist in 3m synchro Troy Dumais (USA, second) and teammate Zhiyi Sun (third). In the platform event, 2012 Olympic champion in 10m synchro Yanquan Zhang added another gold medal to his name, beating 2012 Olympic champion in the 10m individual event David Boudia (USA) and Oleksandr Bondar (UKR), second and third, respectively.  
Among women, China’s diving prospect Zhang Jun obtained the first crown of her career in the 3m springboard, ahead of compatriot Jiao Liu (second) and Tina Punzel (GER, third). Jun also reached the highest podium with teammate Lin Qu in the 3m synchro. Jie Lian completed China’s golden sweep by winning the 10m platform. Teammate Xiaohui Huang and Julia Prokopchuk (UKR) finished in second and third place, respectively.


3m springboard: 1. Chao He (CHN) 533.25; 2. Troy Dumais (USA) 474.50; 3. Zhiyi Sun (CHN) 462.90
10m platform: 1. Yanquan Zhang (CHN) 521.00; 2. David Boudia (USA) 518.60; 3. Oleksandr Bondar (UKR) 507.50
3m springboard synchro: 1. Chao He / Shixin Li (CHN) 430.38; 2. Oleksiy Prygorov / Illya Kvasha (UKR) 428.37; 3. Rommel Pacheco / Jahir Ocampo (MEX) 394.32
10m platform synchro: 1. Huo Liang / Jian Yang (CHN) 460.77; 2. Patrick Hausding / Sascha Klein (GER) 425.79; 3. Juan Rios / Victor Ortega (COL) 419.64

3m springboard: 1. Zhang Jun (CHN) 333.90; 2. Jiao Liu (CHN) 316.95; 3. Tina Punzel (GER) 314.25
10m platform: 1. Lian Jie (CHN) 392.80; 2. Xiaohui Huang (CHN) 368.55; 3. Julia Prokopchuk (UKR) 346.15
3m springboard synchro: 1. Zhang Jun / Lin Qu (CHN) 311.40; 2. Anna Pysmenska / Olena Fedorova (UKR) 293.70; 3. Yan Yee Ng / Jun Hoong Cheong (MAS) 282.90
10m platform synchro: 1. Jie Lian / Huang Xiaohui (CHN) 321.54 ; 2. Pandelela Rinong Pamg / Leong Mun Yee (MAS) 295.62; 3. Sarah Barrow / Tonia Couch (GBR) 292.68


February 15-17: Madrid (ESP)
February 22-24: Rostock (GER)
May 2-5: Gatineau (CAN)
May 9-12: Fort Lauderdale (USA)

May 16-19: San Juan (PUR)
May 29-31: Kazan (RUS)
June 28-30: Bolzano (ITA)

> more info

FINA Newsletter