PR 22 - Diving World Series 2013: World’s diving elite meets in Beijing (CHN) for opening leg


Lausanne (SUI), March 14, 2013 – From March 15-17, Beijing’s iconic “Water Cube” will host the opening leg of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2013. More than 60 world-class divers representing 12 countries will take part in the first meet of the Series.

The competition schedule includes 3m springboard and 10m platform, individual and synchro, for men and women.

The 2013 Diving World Series schedule is as follows:

March 15-17: Beijing (CHN)
March 21-23: Dubai (UAE)
April 19-21: Edinburgh (GBR)
April 26-28: Moscow (RUS)
May 17-19: Guadalajara (MEX)
May 24-26: Mexico City (MEX)

Keeping a strong hold on the majority of titles in all six previous World Series editions, Chinese divers are expected to shine once again at the inaugural meet in front of the home crowd. Among those to watch in Beijing are 2012 World Series winner in the men’s 3m springboard and 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Chong He; 2012 Olympic silver medallist in the men’s 10m platform Qiu Bo; 2012 Olympic champion in the women’s 3m springboard, individual and synchro, Minxia Wu; four-time World Series winner in the women’s 3m springboard He Zi, who also picked up an Olympic gold and silver medals in the event at the 2012 London Games; 2012 Olympic champion in the women’s 10m platform events Ruolin Chen, who also clinched both titles in the last three editions of the Series.

Training already started in the Water Cube today

Beijing’s first leg will feature a tough competitive field with many Olympic and World medallists: Brittany Broben and Melissa Wu (AUS), Jennifer Abel, Meaghan Benfeito and Roseline Filion (CAN), Patrick Hausding (GER), Pandelela Rinong Pamg (MAS), Yahel Castillo, Ivan Garcia, Alejandra Orozco and Laura Sanchez (MEX), Evgeny Kuznetsov and Ilya Zakharov (RUS), Illya Kvasha and Oleksiy Prygorov (UKR) and Troy Dumais (USA).

At each meet, USD 96,000 of prize money is reserved for the three medallists of all eight individual and synchro events. Moreover, a prize money amounting USD 192,000 will reward the overall World Series winners in each diving event – totalling USD 768,000.

The events (finals) of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2013 will be streamed live and free on FINAtv and on iPhone/iPad (LIVE+ application @appstore) via this link.


> Beijing full programme and provisional start list

FINA Newsletter