PR 74 - Perth (AUS) welcomes water polo young hopefuls


Lausanne (SUI), November 30, 2012 – Perth’s Challenge Stadium, in Australia, will play host to the first-ever FINA World Youth Water Polo Championships (18 & Under), organised from December 1-9, 2012.

A total 34 teams (15 among women and 19 among men) from 24 countries will meet on the international water polo stage in a new competition format. This is the first time that a men’s and women’s competition is run simultaneously within the same venue. 

The men’s competition will kick off on December 1 and the women’s one day later. Both finals will be held on December 9.
Women’s youth teams: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, New Zealand, Russia, South Africa, USA, Uzbekistan and Zimbabwe.

Men’s youth teams: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Egypt, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Peru, Romania, Serbia, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, USA and Uzbekistan.

> more info