PR 38 - Untouchable Team USA takes home seventh title


Lausanne (SUI), June 4, 2012 - Led by powerful Brenda Villa, the U.S. team obtained their seventh (and fourth consecutive) World League title, after beating Australia 6-4 in a hard-fought and exciting final at the Changshu Sport Centre, China on June 3.

In the nine editions of the World League, only two other countries captured gold: Greece in 2005 and Russia in 2008. The USA did not appear on the podium only once, in 2005, where they took fifth.

The Australians improved from the last World League, where they took third. This is their seventh podium in this competition and third silver medal. They missed the podium in 2004 and 2006.

As they did last year at the FINA World Championships, Greece denied China a victory on home soil, edging the host just by one goal (8-7).

Despite the absence of some of their best players, Greece reinforced their status in the international water polo arena with this third World League bronze medal.

In the battle for fifth and sixth places, world number 3 Russia crushed Germany 18-4. It is nevertheless a great progress for the Germans, who achieve their best result at a World League competition.

Italy completes the final ranking, losing to Canada 8-12.

The final ranking of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World League 2012 is as follows: 1. USA, 2. Australia, 3. Greece, 4. China, 5. Russia, 6. Germany, 7. Canada, 8. Italy.

MEDALLISTS of the FINA Women’s World League
2004: 1. USA, 2. HUN, 3. ITA
2005: 1. GRE, 2. RUS, 3. AUS
2006: 1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. RUS
2007: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
2008: 1. RUS, 2. USA, 3. AUS
2009: 1. USA, 2. CAN, 3. AUS
2010: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
2011: 1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. AUS
2012: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE