PR 37 - Final eight in battle for top honours in Changshu (CHN)


Lausanne (SUI), May 25, 2012 – The national teams of Australia, Canada, China, Germany, Greece, Italy, Russia and USA are gearing up for the Super Final of the 9th FINA Women’s Water Polo World League organised in Changshu (China) from May 29 to June 3. The teams will be divided in two groups as follows:

Group A: China, Germany, Greece, USA
Group B: Australia, Canada, Italy, Russia

USA, a six-time World League winner and current Olympic silver-medallist, is the team to beat in China. The defending champions will seek to add another title to their already incredible roll of honour. Except in 2005, they climbed the podium at all World League editions.

Reigning world champion Greece, whose squad won the World League in 2005, is a strong medal contender. The Chinese team, whose progress in the discipline has been terrific in the recent years, created a sensation by taking second at the last World Championships in Shanghai, their best result so far.  

Traditional water polo powerhouses Australia, Canada, Italy and Russia are also close challengers in the Super Final race. Italy finished second at the last World League while the Australians are bronze medallists from both the 2011 World League and the Beijing Olympics.

The overall winner will receive US$50'000 in prize money and a total US$272'500 will be divided among the 15 participating teams.

MEDALLISTS of the FINA Women’s World League

2004: 1. USA, 2. HUN, 3. ITA
1. GRE, 2. RUS, 3. AUS
1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. RUS
1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
1. RUS, 2. USA, 3. AUS
1. USA, 2. CAN, 3. AUS
1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. AUS

PROGRAMME of the FINA Women’s World League 2012

Wednesday, May 30: USA-GRE, GER-CHN, ITA-AUS, CAN-RUS
Thursday, May 31: ITA-CAN, GRE-CHN, GER-USA, RUS-AUS
Friday, June 1: 2A-3B; 3A-2B; 1A-4B; 4A-1B
Saturday, June 2: Semi-finals 5-8 (2 games); Semi-finals 1-4 (2 games)
Sunday, June 3: Games for places 7-8, 5-6, 3-4 and 1-2

> more info