PR 25 - Daley (GBR) and Espinosa (MEX) finish on top in closing Mexican leg


Lausanne (SUI), April 22, 2012 – Tijuana (MEX), the last of four meets, successfully concluded the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2012 with once again a top-level two-day competition, held from April 20-21 and featuring the best divers in action. China walked away with five victories, Great Britain, Mexico and the United States earned one title each. Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Russia and Ukraine also climbed the podium in Tijuana.

Zi He (CHN) prevailed in the women’s 3m springboard, winning comfortably with 386.55 points ahead of Italy’s Tania Cagnotto. Christina Loukas (USA) claimed the bronze. In the 10m platform, Paola Espinosa (MEX) tasted victory, finishing first with a total score of 367.40. Runner-up Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) totalled 356.40 points while Nora Subschinski (GER) took third.

Among men, Chinese icon Qin Kai carried the lead until a decisive win in the 3m springboard, scoring a total 530.30. Consistent performer Ilya Zakharov (RUS) picked up silver with 490.70 points while French Matthieu Rosset completed the podium with a total 472.50 points. David Boudia (USA, 543.25 points) was beaten in the 10m platform final by British diving star Thomas Daley (562.85 points). The third place was reserved for Sascha Klein (GER, 525.90 points).

The best synchro teams were Chinese pairs Kai Qin/Yutong Luo, Zi He/Minxia Wu and Ruolin Chen/Hao Wang. The only non-Chinese victory was that of Nicholas McCrory/David Boudia (USA) in the men’s 10m platform. Locals German Sanchez/Ivan Garcia and Paola Espinosa/Alejandra Orozco also showed talent, taking silver in the 10m platform, besting Great Britain’s Peter Waterfield/Thomas Daley and Sarah Barrow/Tonia Couch.

Check out all results