PR 18 - Quest for last London berths to play out in Edmonton (CAN)


Lausanne (SUI), March 30, 2012 – The city of Edmonton (Alberta, CAN) will bring together 12 national teams for the Men's Water Polo Olympic Games Qualification Tournament organised at the Kinsmen Sports Centre from April 1-8, 2012.

The four teams to reach the semi finals will secure a place for the Olympic Games Water Polo Tournament scheduled from July 29 to August 12 at the Water Polo Arena on London's Olympic Park.  

The participating teams are divided in the two following groups:
Group A: FYR of Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Montenegro, Netherlands, Romania
Group B: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Spain, Turkey, Venezuela

The eight-day competition includes preliminary rounds from April 1-5, the quarter final round on the 6th, semi final round on the 7th and final round on the 8th.

Expected to prevail in Edmonton are water polo heavyweights Greece, Montenegro and Spain. Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Germany, Netherlands and Romania with their experienced teams are also in a chase for Olympic qualification while newcomers Turkey, FYR of Macedonia and Venezuela continue to strengthen their mark on the international water polo stage. 

World champion Italy, runner-up and 2011 World League winner Serbia, world number 3 Croatia and nine-time Olympic champion Hungary are the four best ranked teams from the 2011 FINA World Championships and are thus automatically qualified while Australia, Kazakhstan and the United States booked their London tickets through their respective Continental championships. Great Britain as host of the 2012 Olympic Games represents Europe.