PR 12 - FINA Bureau Nominations


Lausanne (SUI), March 12, 2012 – The FINA Bureau, through mail vote, has made the following nominations:

• For the Bureau itself, Mr. Dennis Miller (FIJ) is the new Vice President for Oceania, while Mr. Matthew Dunn (AUS) is the new member also for Oceania. Mr. Miller has been elected Bureau member in 2009, while Mr. Dunn was a member of the FINA Athletes Commission.

• For the FINA Technical Open Water Swimming Committee, the new acting Honorary Secretary is Mr. Andrea Prayer (ITA).

• The Bureau has confirmed the creation of a Facilities Committee, formed by the following members:

Joaquin Pujol (ESP), Chairman
Kate McKnight (GBR), Honorary Secretary
Per Rune Eknes (NOR), Member
Mick Nelson (USA), Member
Member from China, to be confirmed.

The aim of this Committee will be to deal and update the FINA Facilities Rules to be considered at the FINA General Congress in July 2013 in Barcelona (ESP) and to advice on the construction of aquatic centres (swimming pools).

• The Bureau has also created a High Diving Commission, formed by the following members:

Jesus Mena (MEX), Chairman (also Chairman of the FINA Technical Diving Committee, TDC)
Jihong Zhou (CHN), Vice Chairman (also Vice Chairman of the FINA TDC)
Michael Geissbühler (SUI), Honorary Secretary (also Member of the FINA TDC)
Niki Stajkovic (AUT), Member
Joey Zuber (AUS), Member
Orlando Duque (COL), Member
Claudio De Miro (ITA), Member
Fernando Platas (MEX), Member (also Member of the FINA Athletes Commission)
Julian Llinas (ESP), Member (also Member of the FINA TDC)

The main task of this Commission will be to prepare the rules and regulations for this discipline to be further included in the FINA programme.