Stepping stone for development of Aquatics in Oceania

Development News

The Oceania Swimming Association will organise its first ever Regional Aquatics Development Workshop at the Tanoa International Hotel, Nadi, Fiji from March 4-6, 2012.

FINA, along with the Olympic Solidarity, Asian Swimming Federation, Oceania Swimming Association and USA Swimming, united their vision to provide the member nations of the Oceania Swimming Association with the best educational tools to foster the development of Aquatics in the region. The objectives of the three-day workshop are the following:

- Steering members towards success in future regional and international competitions
- Developing all FINA disciplines in Oceania
- Drawing up a calendar of development activities
- Improving coaching skills in our members
- Increasing Technical Officials skills in Oceania

During the session, several topics will be discussed: The FINA Development Programme, Olympic Solidarity Assistance for Aquatics, Strategic Planning, Restructuring National Federations, Coaching Education and Development, Club Development, Technical Officials Development, Strategies for future success in Oceania Aquatics.

Member National Federations of the Oceania Swimming Association are: American Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Guam, Marshall Islands, New Zealand, Northern Marianas, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tahiti and Tonga. Associate Members are New Caledonia and Hawaii.

(based on a Press Release from the Oceania Swimming Association)