PR 11 - Untouchable China triumphs in London


Lausanne (SUI), February 27, 2011 – Diving giant China sealed an impressive six days at the 18th FINA Diving World Cup held at London’s new Olympic Aquatics Centre (GBR) from February 20-26, 2012, snatching all eight titles on offer in convincing fashion. The Chinese squad walked away with 11 awards. Other nations with medals included Canada and Russia (3), host Great Britain and Italy (2), Germany, Malaysia and Mexico (1).

Among men, all winners from the 2010 edition successfully defended their title, except for the 10m platform which was won by Chinese great Bo Qiu in a gruelling score of 574.90. Victor Minibaev (RUS) picked up silver while Peter Waterfield captured bronze in front of the ecstatic home crowd which filled the stands the entire week. 2010 winner Matthew Mitcham (AUS) took a disappointing thirteenth. 
In the 3m springboard, Chong He (CHN) bested teammate Kai Qin and Alexandre Despatie (CAN), taking second and third, respectively. Rising talent Ethan Warren (AUS) produced the fourth best result, just 0.25 point behind Olympic silver-medallist Despatie.
In the synchro events, the pairing of Kai Qin/Yutong Luo did not fail to maintain China’s golden standard with a clean win in the 3m. Russian duo Evgeny Kuznetsov/Illya Zakharov took second while Lomas Bryan Nickson and Qiang Huang from Malaysia claimed third spot. In the 10m, Yuan Cao combined with Yanquan Zhang for another Chinese victory. Mexico’s Ivan A. Garcia/German Sanchez captured the silver medal and German duo Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein settled for the bronze.

Action shot during the FINA 18th Diving World Cup 2012

In the women’s individual events, China had a lock on the top two spots, with Minxia Wu taking out the 3m springboard and leaving silver for teammate and 2010 winner Zi He. The two rivals formed a winning combination in the synchro same event, beating pairs Jennifer Abel/Emilie Heymans (CAN, second) and Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape (ITA, third). Cagnotto was third in the individal 3m springboard as well. 

In the 10m platform, Ruolin Chen finished ahead of compatriot and defending champion Yadan Hu. The bronze that day was reserved for Yulia Koltunova (RUS). In the 10m synchro, Chen paired with Hao Wang to renew their 2010 success with a powerful score of 359.58. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) gave their country the second women’s synchro silver while British duo Sarah Barrow and Tonia Couch secured the minor medal.

The World Cup was both a test and qualifying event for the 2012 London Olympic Games. A dive off took place on the last day to fill the vacancies of the remaining qualifying spots.  

Men’s 3m springboard: 1. Chong He (CHN) 553.35; 2. Kai Qin (CHN) 524.00; 3. Alexandre Despatie (CAN) 511.95
Men’s 10m platform: 1. Bo Qiu (CHN) 574.90; 2. Victor Minibaev (RUS) 523.60; 3. Peter Waterfield (GBR) 510.35  
Men’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Kai Qin/Yutong Luo (CHN) 445.71; 2. Evgeny Kuznetsov/Illya Zakharov (RUS) 439.83; 3. Lomas Bryan Nickson/Qiang Huang (MAS) 432.09
Men’s 10m platform synchro: 1. Yuan Cao/Yanquan Zhang (CHN) 481.29; 2. Ivan A. Garcia/German Sanchez (MEX) 460.17; 3. Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER) 457.41

Women’s 3m springboard: 1. Wu Minxia (CHN) 368.95; 2. Zi He (CHN) 365.40 3. Tania Cagnotto (ITA) 345.75
Women’s 10m platform: 1. Ruolin Chen (CHN) 405.25; 2. Yadan Hu (CHN) 397.10; 3. Yulia Koltunova (RUS) 350.25
Women’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Zi He/Minxia Wu (CHN) 345.30; 2. Jennifer Abel/Emilie Heymans (CAN) 321.90; 3. Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape (ITA) 317.40
Women’s 10m platform synchro: 1. Ruolin Chen/Hao Wang (CHN) 359.58; 2. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) 331.65; 3. Sarah Barrow/Tonia Couch (GBR) 314.40

> full results