PR 07 - Rostock (GER) welcomes brightest diving stars for first meet


Lausanne (SUI), February 9, 2012 – Rostock, Germany, will welcome 125 divers from 20 countries for the first leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2012. 

The Grand Prix schedule begins with the men's springboard on Friday, February 10 and concludes on February 12 with the men's platform event.

The competition programme for men and women includes 3m springboard, 10m platform, 3m springboard synchro and 10m platform synchro. Last year, China was the only golden nation, sweeping all eight events. 

The three-day event will feature Olympic champion Matthew Mitcham (AUS), medal hopes Jennifer Abel, Meaghan Benfeito and Alexandre Despatie (CAN), notable locals Sascha Klein, Stephan Feck and Patrick Hausding (GER), last year’s silver-medallist in the 10m platform Oleksandr Bondar (UKR), among many talented others. 2011 Grand Prix winner in the 3m springboard Han Wang (CHN) is also in the competition.

After Rostock, the 2012 circuit heads to North America for two stops (CAN, USA) and will go back to Europe for the last three meets (RUS, ESP, ITA).

Full FINA Diving Grand Prix 2012 calendar:
No1: Rostock (GER), February 10-12
No2: Montreal (CAN), May 3-6
No3: Fort Lauderdale (USA), May 10-13
No4: St Petersburg (RUS), June 8-10
No5: Madrid (ESP), June 15-17
No6: Bolzano (ITA) from June 22-24