PR 05 - Gianniotis (GRE) and Grimaldi (ITA) win inaugural race in Santos


Lausanne (SUI), January 30, 2012 – The current and up-and-coming open water swimming elite was on-hand on Sunday January 29 for two thrilling events:  the opening leg of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup in Santos (BRA) and the second stage of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix, a 57km effort between Santa Fe and Coronda (ARG).

In Santos, reigning World champion Spyridon Gianniotis (GRE) captured gold, rounding up in 2h11m39s51. Italy’s Nicola Bolzonello came second (2h11m41s44) while Richard Weinberger (CAN) was not far behind (2h11m42s34), claiming the bronze. 

Among women, still-competitive Martina Grimaldi (ITA) touched first in 2h22m23s94. German veteran Angela Maurer proved her consistency with a second-place finish (2h22m25s50) and local hope Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA) made a good start with a third spot (2h22m28s44).

In the GP race, French Joanes Hedel emerged triumphant with a time of 8h36m38s67. Argentina’s Luciano Sales Rubio finished second (8h36m47s62), closely followed by compatriot Damian Blaum (8h36m47s85) who grabs his second bronze medal (he was third in Rosario).

Anna Uvarova from Russia was the best among women (8h44m26s12). She clinched silver in Race 1, before improving to a gold-medal finish in convincing fashion. Home favourite Pilar Geijo looked strong and finished second (8h47m58s62) while Spain’s Esther Nunez took the minor medal (8h52m46s59).

FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2012 calendar:

Race 1: January 29 in Santos (BRA)
NEXT RACE: February 4 in Viedma (ARG)
Race 3: April 1 in Eilat (ISR)
Race 4: April 21 in Cancun (MEX)
Race 5: July 26 in Lac St-Jean (CAN)
Race 6: August 11 in Lac Megantic (CAN)
Race 7: October 7 in Hong Kong (HKG)
Race 8: October 14 in Shantou (CHN)

> more info

FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2012 calendar:

Race 1: January 22 in Rosario (ARG, 15km)
Race 2: January 29 in Santa Fe-Coronda (ARG, 57km)

NEXT RACE: February 5 in Hernandarias-Parana (ARG, 88km)
Race 4: June 17 in Capri-Napoli (ITA, 36km)
Race 5: July 28 in Lac St-Jean (CAN, 32km)
Race 6: August 4 in Lac Magog (CAN, 34km)
Race 7: August 5 in Sabac (SRB, 19km)
Race 8: August 11 in Ohrid Lake (MKD, 33km)

> more info