PR 02 - World’s best ready to brave first race in Rosario (ARG)


Lausanne (SUI), January 20, 2012 – The sixth edition of the Grand Prix kicks off  its 2012 season with 17 men and 11 women from eight countries hitting the water in Rosario (ARG) on January 22. 

The annual long-distance circuit attracts world-class open water swimmers to race some of the world’s most challenging and amazing waterways with events ranging from 15km to 88km!

The eight meets are divided in three main clusters: open water powerhouse Argentina will host two other events after Rosario: Santa Fe-Coronda on January 29 and Hernandarias-Parana on February 5. There will be three stages in Europe: Capri-Napoli (ITA) on June 17, Sabac (SRB) on August 5 and Ohrid Lake (MKD) on August 11. Two Canadian legs complete the programme: Lac St-Jean on July 28 and Lac Magog on August 4.

Legendary great Petar Stoychev (BUL) has been the absolute dominator of this competition since it was launched in 2007, winning all five titles. Among women, Pilar Geijo (ARG) has been the reigning champion for the last two editions.

FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2012 calendar: 

Race 1: January 22 in Rosario (ARG, 15km)
Race 2: January 29 in Santa Fe-Coronda (ARG, 57km)
Race 3: February 5 in Hernandarias-Parana (ARG, 88km)
Race 4: June 17 in Capri-Napoli (ITA, 36km)
Race 5: July 28 in Lac St-Jean (CAN, 32km)
Race 6: August 4 in Lac Magog (CAN, 34km)
Race 7: August 5 in Sabac (SRB, 19km)
Race 8: August 11 in Ohrid Lake (MKD, 33km)

> more info