PR 73 - Will Spain’s dream survive China’s rise?


Lausanne (SUI), December 8, 2011 – The sixth edition of the FINA Synchronised Swimming World Trophy will be held from December 9-11, 2011 in Beijing, China at the iconic Water Cube. The Chinese capital hosts the event for the first time.

The national federations of Brazil, Canada, China, Egypt, Italy, Japan, Russia, Spain and USA will perform in a programme that includes Thematic Duet, Free Team and Free Combination. To encourage innovation and creativity, scores are given for artistic impression only and rules allow the use of accessories.

Top qualifiers Russia and Spain each won two editions so far, while Canada triumphed at home in 2009. But this year, defending champion Spain will also face fierce competition from strong rival China, who became world No. 2 at the last FINA World Championships in Shanghai and is again competing on home soil.

A total of US$ 161,500 in prize money will be on offer.

Live streaming of the competition will be available via FINA TV.

December 9, 2011 – Synchro Highlight Routine & Thematic Duet
December 10, 2011 – Free Team Routine & Solo Exhibition
December 11, 2011 – Free Routine Combination

Podium of the previous editions:
2006 (Moscow, RUS): 1. Russia, 2. Spain, 3. Japan
2007 (Rio de Janeiro, BRA): 1. Russia, 2. Spain, 3. United States
2008 (Madrid, ESP): 1. Spain, 2. China, 3. Russia
2009 (Montreal, CAN): 1. Canada 2. Russia 3. Spain
2010 (Moscow, RUS): 1. Spain 2. Russia 3. Ukraine