PR 70 - 2012 Diving World Series programme announced


Lausanne (SUI), November 24, 2011 – The 2012 edition of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series will consist of four meets in four different cities in the Middle East, Asia and Central America. Dubai makes its entry as host city and will organise the inaugural stage of the Series.

The complete 2012 World Series calendar is as follows:

March 16-17, 2012          Dubai (UAE)
March 23-24, 2012         Beijing (CHN)
April 13-14, 2012          Moscow (RUS)
April 20-21, 2012         Tijuana (MEX)

The FINA/Midea Diving World Series is a high-profile competition which offers an annual meeting opportunity for the world’s brightest diving stars. The event was firstly launched in 2007. For each edition, the best-ranked divers from previous Olympic Games and World Championships are invited to take part in two-day meets.

The diving programme includes eight events for both men and women: 3m springboard and 10m platform, both individual and synchro. The competition for individual events is organised as a tournament in each event with two semi-finals of four or five divers each and a final comprising the three best-ranked divers from each semi-final. The synchro events, however, are held as direct finals.

At each meet, US$96,000 of prize money is reserved for the three best divers of all eight individual and synchro events. Moreover, a prize money amounting US$192,000 will reward the overall World Series winners in each diving event – totalling US$576,000.

This prestigious, exclusive event promotes awareness about which countries are renowned for the sport, while fostering the discipline’s growth in the host nations and other parts of the world. More generally, the Series also aims to increase international exposure to the sport of diving, which has been an Olympic sport for men since 1904 and women since 1912.