PR 56 - 16 women teams in action from September 11 at the Junior WP Worlds


Lausanne (SUI), September 10, 2011 – The city of Trieste (ITA) welcomes from September 11-17, 2011 the 9th edition of the FINA World Junior Women’s Water Polo Championships (20 years old and under), with the participation of 16 teams from the five continents. Like in the men’s edition held two weeks ago in Volos (GRE), this competition will once more confirm the development of water polo worldwide and will display the future stars of the game.

The 16 participating squads are divided in four groups, as follows:

GROUP A: China, Hungary, Mexico, Australia
GROUP B: South Africa, Netherlands, Uzbekistan, Russia
GROUP C: United States, Indonesia, Italy, Greece
GROUP D: Canada, Germany, Brazil, Spain

The preliminary round of the championships will be played from September 11-13, and will be followed on September 14 by the qualification round, then quarterfinals (September 15), semifinals (September 16) and finals (September 17). It is the second time this event is held in Italy, after the 1999 edition organised in Messina.

Australia and United States are the only countries with two victories in the history of the competition: the North Americans won in 2001 and 2005, while Australians were the best in 1999 and 2007. The remaining four winners of these championships are also present in Trieste: Russia (victorious in 2009), Canada (2003), Greece (1997) and Netherlands (1995).

Before Trieste, the previous editions of the FINA World Junior Women’s Water Polo Championships were held in: 1995 – Ste Foy (CAN); 1997 – Prague (CZE); 1999 – Messina (ITA); 2001 – Perth (AUS); 2003 – Calgary (CAN); 2005 – Perth (AUS); 2007 – Porto (POR); 2009 - Khanty-Mansiysk (RUS).