PR 53 - Croatia to defend title against best junior teams


Lausanne (SUI), August 26, 2011 – The world’s best junior water polo teams are gathering for the 16th FINA World Men’s Junior Water Polo Championships, taking place from 27 August – 4 September, 2011 in both outdoor and indoor pools in the coastal city of Volos (GRE).

The 20 participating countries are divided as follows:
Group 1: France, Puerto Rico, Australia, Greece, Canada
Group 2: Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Hungary, Iran
Group 3: Montenegro, Uzbekistan, Croatia, Brazil, Egypt
Group 4: Mexico, Serbia, USA, Spain, South Africa

The Preliminary rounds will be held from August 27-31 and the final on September 4.

The new age group competition format starting in 2011 will see “20 Year & Under” taking part in the Junior World Championships in odd years and “18 Years & Under” in even years. 

Croatia won at home against Greece in the last 2009 edition while Serbia took third.