PR 31 - Germany and Russia withstand China’s dominance in Rostock (GER)


Lausanne (SUI), May 30, 2011 – Rostock (GER) welcomed more than 90 current and up-and-coming elite divers from 20 countries for the fifth meet of the 17th FINA Diving Grand Prix from May 27-29, 2011. Although China did not send its biggest stars, the country’s young talents did not disappoint, sweeping half of the titles at stake.

Among women, Ting Mao Shi was the best in the 3m springboard, sharing the podium with teammate Lin Qu (second). Taking gold in the platform event was another fresh face, Yi Ying Xing. Home favourite Nora Subschinski sealed an impressive three days, making the podium in all events – silver in the 3m synchro (with Tina Punzel) and bronze in the remaining three events (with Christin Steuer in the 10m synchro). Malaysia’s Pandelela Rinong (combining with Mun Yee Leong) was sensational in the 10m synchro, striking gold and a silver in the individual same event.

In the men’s competition, the 3m springboard and 10m synchro podiums were exclusively European with Russia clinching both titles – Evgeny Kuznetsov in the 3m springboard and Ilya Zakharov/Victor Minibaev in the 10m synchro. China’s Aisen Chen shared the 10m platform podium with Sascha Klein (GER, second) and Gleb Galperin (RUS, third) while 3m synchro partners Patrick Hausding and Stephan Feck bagged Germany’s only gold (out of an impressive eight-medal tally).  

Other nations to make the podium in Rostock were Ukraine (silver and bronze in the men’s 10m synchro and women’s 3m synchro, respectively) and the USA (silver in the men’s 3m synchro).
The next and last leg of the Grand Prix will take place in Bolzano (ITA) from June 10-12.

3m springboard: 1. Evgeny Kuznetsov (RUS) 512.45; 2. Pavlo Rozenberg (GER) 488.40; 3. Ilya Zakharov (RUS) 484.65
10m platform: 1. Aisen Chen (CHN) 570.85; 2. Sascha Klein (GER) 558.05; 3. Gleb Galperin (RUS) 529.65
3m springboard synchro: 1. Patrick Hausding/Stephan Feck (GER) 415.86; 2. Chris Colwill/Drew Livingston (USA) 405.90; 3. Min He/Jianfeng Peng (CHN) 401.28
10m platform synchro: 1. Ilya Zakharov/Victor Minibaev (RUS) 437.88; 2. Alexandr Bondar/ Oleksandr Gorshkovozov (UKR) 419.94; 3. Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER) 406.65

3m springboard: 1. Ting Mao Shi (CHN) 369.90; 2. Lin Qu (CHN) 347.25; 3. Nora Subschinski (GER) 332.40
10m platform: 1. Yi Ying Xing (CHN) 391.15; 2. Pandelela Rinong (MAS) 350.65; 3. Nora Subschinski (GER) 341.35
3m springboard synchro: 1. Ye Chen/Lin Qu (CHN) 308.40; 2. Tina Punzel/Nora Subschinski (GER) 291.00; 3. Olena Fedorova/Anna Pysmenska (UKR) 280.50
10m platform synchro: 1. Pandelela Rinong/Mun Yee Leong (MAS) 312.96; 2. Yajie Si/Yi Ying Xing (CHN) 309.00; 3. Nora Subschinski/Christin Steuer (GER) 300.54


February 18-20: Madrid (ESP)
February 24-26: Penza (RUS)
April 28-May 1: Montreal (CAN)
May 5-8: Fort-Lauderdale (USA)
May 27-29: Rostock (GER)

June 10-12: Bolzano (ITA)