PR 30 - All the teams for Super Finals are defined


Lausanne (SUI), May 23, 2011 – The preliminary rounds of the FINA Water Polo World Leagues 2011 are now finished and the eight teams qualified for the Super Finals of both the men’s and women’s competition are defined.

Among men, and after the conclusion of the Asia/Oceania qualification, the eight national squads that will play the Super Final in Florence (ITA), from June 21-26, are: Serbia, Montenegro, Croatia and Italy (representing Europe), Australia and China (from Asia/Oceania), and USA and Canada (Americas).

In the women’s field, the last couple of weeks were highlighted by the Asia/Oceania and the European tournament, and after this preliminary stage, the eight best teams that will contest the Super Final in Tianjin (CHN), from June 14-19, are as follows: Greece, Spain, Russia and Italy (coming from Europe), Australia and China (Asia/Oceania), and USA and Canada (Americas).

A total of 19 teams among men and 13 among women, from four continents, were active during the preliminary rounds of the FINA Water Polo World Leagues 2011.

The defending 2010 champions of this competition are Serbia (men) and USA (women).