PR 20 - Daley/Waterfield win 10m synchro title at home


Lausanne (SUI), April 18, 2011 – To the joy of the spectators present in Sheffield (GBR), local heroes Thomas Daley and Peter Waterfield got the only non-Chinese victory at the third leg of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2011, held on April 15-16. Daley and Waterfield were the best in the men’s 10m platform synchro event, winning by a margin of almost six points over the silver medallists, China’s Yuan Cao and Yanquang Zhang.

Since the beginning of the series, this is precisely the “weakest” event in terms of the Chinese supremacy. In the first leg, in Moscow, China did not participate in the men’s 10m platform synchro (won at the time by Guerra and Aguirre from Cuba – sixth in Sheffield), and in the second leg, in Beijing, Cao and Zhang managed to win at home.

Otherwise, the Asian domination in this year’s Series remains overwhelming, with Chinese divers winning all the remaining events: Kai Qin and Bo Qiu respectively the men’s 3m springboard and 10m platform, Zi He and Yadan Hu respectively the women’s 3m and 10m. China’s victories also extend to the synchronised events, with clear victories in the men’s 3m springboard and in both women’s events.

In Sheffield, and among men, divers from the USA were also in good shape, getting three medals. Mexico and Germany were the remaining countries in the podium.

In the women’s field, Canadians were in evidence, also with three presences in the podium, while Mexico, Italy and Australia completed the list of countries with medals in Sheffield.

The fourth and last leg of the Series will take place in Guanajuato (MEX), on April 22-23.

Men’s 3m springboard: 1. Kai Qin (CHN) 547.70; 2. Chong He (CHN) 531.15; 3. Troy Dumais (USA) 507.65
Men’s 10m platform: 1. Bo Qiu (CHN) 586.55; 2. Liang Huo (CHN) 567.10; 3. David Boudia (USA) 534.55
Men’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Kai Qin/Yutong Luo (CHN) 460.23; 2. Yahel Castillo/Daniel Islas (MEX) 451.71; 3. Troy Dumais/Kristian Ipsen (USA) 425.73
Men’s 10m platform synchro: 1. Thomas Daley/Peter Waterfield (GBR) 449.43; 2. Yanquan Zhang/Yuan Cao (CHN) 443.82; 3. Sascha Klein/Patrick Hausding (GER) 427.59

Women’s 3m springboard: 1. Zi He (CHN) 396.95; 2. Minxia Wu (CHN) 370.35; 3. Jennifer Abel (CAN) 341.40
Women’s 10m platform: 1. Yadan Hu (CHN) 442.00; 2. Ruolin Chen (CHN) 408.60; 3. Paola Espinosa (MEX) 356.10
Women’s 3m springboard synchro: 1. Zi He/Minxia Wu (CHN) 334.20; 2. Jennifer Abel/Emilie Heymans (CAN) 315.00; 3. Francesca Dallape/Tania Cagnotto (ITA) 303.60
Women’s 10m platform synchro: 1. Ruolin Chen/Hao Wang (CHN) 347.46; 2. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) 325.71; 3. Alexandra Croak/Melissa Wu (AUS) 325.26