PR 17 - The 2011 circuit kicks off in Santos (BRA)


Lausanne (SUI), April 15, 2011 – Santos, in the Sao Paulo state of Brazil, will be host of FINA’s finest marathon swimmers on April 17, 2011, for the first leg of the 2011 FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup. 129 athletes (41 women and 88 men) from 19 countries have answered the call of open water.

Among those to watch in Santos are home heroes and medal favourites Allan do Carmo (2010 Series bronze medallist), Ana Marcela Cunha (2010 overall winner) and Poliana Okimoto (2009 overall winner), Germany’s open water icons Thomas Lurz and Angela Maurer, Bulgarian giant Petar Stoychev, and Argentina’s powerful Damian Blaum, Antonella Bogarin and Pilar Geijo, all regular competitors in the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix as well.

The overall winners are the swimmer in the men’s and women’s field respectively, with the most points, and who have participated in a minimum of 70% of the 2011 Series. An annual prize money of US$100’000 will be awarded for both the men’s and women’s overall winners.  

Full FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2011 calendar:

Race 1: April 17, 2011 in Santos (BRA)
Race 2: April 30, 2011 in Cancun (MEX)
Race 3: June 18, 2011 in Setubal (POR)
Race 4: July 24, 2011 in Lac St-Jean (CAN)
Race 5: August 13, 2011 in Lac Megantic (CAN)
Race 6: September 25, 2011 in Shantou (CHN)
Race 7: October 2, 2011 in Hong Kong (HKG)