PR 03 - Hervas (ESP) and Biagioli (ARG) win first leg in Rosario


Lausanne (SUI), January 24, 2011 – On January 23, 35 open water swimmers from 11 countries took to the water for a 15km effort in Rosario (ARG), the first race of the 2011 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix.

The men’s event was won by Francisco Hervas (ESP) in 2:02.55, a newcomer to the FINA podium club. He was followed by another fresh face of the open water world stage, Brian Rickeman (BEL), timing 2:02.57. The third place was reserved for consistent performer Alexander Studzinski (GER), clocking 2:02.59. All three raced for the win in an extremely tight finish with a 2-second margin of one another. Veteran swimmer Petar Stoychev had to settle for fourth while home favourite Damian Blaum placed fifth. Italians Andrea Volpini and Rodolfo Valenti (fourth and third in the overall ranking last year), finished in sixth and seventh position respectively.

The Argentinean delegation took the spotlight among women with Cecilia Biagioli repeating her brilliant performance from last year, touching first in 2:04.41, and reigning Grand Prix champion Pilar Geijo claiming third spot in 2:11.09. Runner-up Esther Nunez Morera (ESP) gave her country the second medal of the day with a time of 2:08.26.

Full FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2011 calendar:

Race 1: January 23, 2011 in Rosario (ARG, 15km)
NEXT RACE: January 30, 2011 in Santa Fe-Coronda (ARG, 57km)
Race 3: February 5, 2011 in Viedma (ARG, 12km)
Race 4: February 13, 2011 in Hernandarias-Parana (ARG, 88km)
Race 5: April 23, 2011 in Sumidero Canyon (MEX, 15km)
Race 6: June 19, 2011 in Capri-Napoli (ITA, 36km)
Race 7: July 30, 2011 in Lac St. Jean (CAN, 32km)
Race 8: August 6, 2011 in Lake Memphremagog (CAN, 34km)
Race 9: August 7, 2011 in Sabac (SRB, 19km)
Race 10: August 14, 2011 in Ohrid Lake (MKD, 30km)
Race 11: TBC (UAE)