PR 71 - Pereira (BRA) and Alshammar (SWE), overall winners


Thiago Pereira (BRA) and Therese Alshammar (SWE) were the overall winners of the FINA/ARENA Swimming World Cup 2010, which had seven meets in three continents and concluded in Stockholm (SWE), on November 6-7. In the men’s ranking, Pereira totalled 178 points, while in the women’s field, Alshammar was first with 162 points.

At 33, the Swedish star is used to shine in the World Cup, having being first in 2006 and 2007, and second in 2008 and 2009. Alshammar participated in all seven legs of this year’s circuit and was the best performer of the meet on four occasions - Rio de Janeiro (BRA), Singapore (SIN), Tokyo (JPN) and in Stockholm (SWE) -, third in Berlin (GER) and Moscow (RUS) and seventh in Beijing (CHN). In the last meet of the circuit, at home, Alshammar got the “most valuable performance” thanks to her win in the 100m butterfly (55.53 – 974 points).

For Pereira, this is the first victory in the World Cup, after being third in 2007. The Brazilian medley specialist was even more impressive in his victory, being the best performer in all meets but Tokyo (JPN), where he was “only” fourth, and Stockholm (SWE), where he had the second best result of the meet.

Pereira and Alshammar will receive each US$ 100’000, while the second highest prize money (US$ 50’000) will go for Darian Townsend (RSA, 126 points) among men and Julia Smit (USA, 128 points) in the women’s field – it’s the first win (and presence in this competition’s podium) for both swimmers in the World Cup.  

The third place of the ranking was occupied by Roland Schoeman (RSA) in the men’s (74 points) and by Hinkelien Schreuder (NED) in the women’s classification (60 points). Both swimmers will receive US$ 30’000 as prize money. Schreuder had also been third in 2009, while Schoeman had been second in 2005 and 2009.

FINA Newsletter