PR 63 - China gets 12 gold medals in the “Water Cube”


The team of China dominated the second leg of the FINA/ARENA Swimming World Cup 2010, held in Beijing (CHN) on October 12-13, by earning 12 gold medals out of the 34 events contested at the “Water Cube”. It was the most important swimming competition in this emblematic venue since the 2008 Olympic Games in the Chinese capital.

China’s supremacy was more evident in the women’s field, with 10 victories (out of 17 finals). Shiwen Ye was the most prolific winner with three gold (100m free, 200m and 400m individual medley), while Chang Gao (50m and 100m backstroke – Gao was the best performer of the meet with her 50m back win in 26.00, worth 965 points) and Ye Sun (100m and 200m breaststroke) won on two occasions each. The remaining Chinese winners were Qianwei Zhu (200m free), Jing Liu (400m free) and Luomeng Ren (800m free).

Therese Alshammar, from Sweden, got three out of the four titles for her country (50m free, 50m and 100m butterfly) and continues to lead the overall ranking of this World Cup. The other victories among women went to USA (2) and the Netherlands (1).

Among men, South Africa (seven gold medals) and Brazil (four titles) shared the most medals, while China and Japan got two titles each, and Russia and USA had one winner each in Beijing. South African swimmers in evidence were Roland Schoeman, Lyndon Ferns, Darian Townsend and Cameron van der Burgh. Brazil’s success was mostly due to Thiago Pereira (three wins and best performance in the men’s field, with his 200m IM victory in 1:54.21 – 931 points). Pereira reinforced his lead of the overall ranking, after being also the most “valuable” swimmer of the first leg of the circuit, in Rio de Janeiro (BRA).

> more info
> results
> rankings

FINA Newsletter