PR52 - USA obtains World Cup title for the first time since 1979 in 2010 edition


Lausanne (SUI), August 23, 2010 - The USA recaptures the World Cup title after 31 years, at the 15th FINA Women's Water Polo World Cup, held in Christchurch (NZL) from August 17-22, 2010. With this third major title, the USA surely confirms their reputation on the international water polo scene, being already World and World League champions. This incredible feat gives USA team captain, Brenda Villa, one of the two gold medals her incredible roll of honour was missing (the remaining one is an Olympic gold medal).

After having lost its first game against Australia in the preliminary round, the USA team showed their thirst for victory in the final round, defeating the Australians 6-3.  

Another great success in this 2010 edition is China's bronze medal, which is their first international medal at the senior level. China defeated European champion Russia 11-9.

Battling for the fifth and sixth places, Canada and Hungary concluded their game 18-16, while Greece finished in seventh position, winning over competition host, New Zealand, 16-8.

China's Gao Ao is the top scorer of the competition, with 16 goals.

The teams of Russia, Canada, Hungary and Greece qualified for next year’s FINA World Championships in Shanghai (CHN), the USA having already earned their berth by winning at last month's FINA World League in La Jolla, Cal. (USA), will be in Shanghai to defend their World title won in Rome last year. Silver-medallist Australia has also qualified from the World League tournament. As host of the FINA World Championships, China qualifies automatically. The remaining nine teams will qualify through the continental championships: three from Europe, two from the Americas, two from Asia and one each from Oceania and Africa.


1. United States of America
2. Australia
3. China
4. Russia
5. Canada
6. Hungary
7. Greece
8. New Zealand

FINA Newsletter