PR51 - Christchurch (NZL) welcomes 2010 edition


Lausanne (SUI), August 16, 2010 – The national teams of Australia, Canada, China, Greece, Hungary, New Zealand, Russia and USA are heading to Christchurch (NZL) for the 15th edition of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup, taking place from August 17 – 22, 2010.

Reigning World Cup champion Australia will be the team to beat in this competition, which is held every four years. The USA team has an incredible roll of honour, which includes three Olympic medals, three FINA World Championships crowns and five FINA World League titles but hasn’t added a World Cup gold medal since the first obtained in 1979. The powerful teams of Canada, Hungary and Russia also have good prospects to medal in the competition while China, Greece and New Zealand will surely try making their mark on the international water polo scene.     

The Programme of the 2010 edition is as follows:

Group A: Hungary, Greece, China, Canada
Group B: New Zealand, USA, Russia, Australia

Day 1 (August 17): USA-RUS, GRE-CHN, NZL-AUS, HUN-CAN
Day 2 (August 18): HUN-CHN, USA-AUS, GRE-CAN, NZL-RUS
Day 3 (August 19): GRE-HUN, RUS-USA, CHN-CAN, USA-NZL
Day 4 (August 20): 4A-4B (places 7/8), 3A-2B, 2A-3B
Day 5 (August 21): 1 game for places 5/6, 2 games of semi-finals
Day 6 (August 22): Games for places 3/4 and 1/2

The World Cup returns to Christchurch for the second time, being firstly held in 1988.

FINA Newsletter